macOS High Sierra 10.13.2 Beta 6 Fixes Root Password Vulnerability

Discussion in 'MacRumors.com News Discussion' started by MacRumors, Dec 1, 2017.

  1. MacRumors macrumors bot

    MacRumors

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2001
    #1
    [​IMG]


    The newest beta of macOS High Sierra 10.13.2 fixes a major macOS High Sierra vulnerability that enabled the root superuser on a Mac with no password and no security check.

    Apple on Wednesday released a security update to fix the problem on machines running the current release version of macOS High Sierra, 10.13.1, but the bug has remained in macOS 10.13.2 until today.


    Developers and public beta testers who are running macOS 10.13.2 should update to beta 6 right away to protect their Macs. MacRumors has confirmed that the vulnerability, which involved entering the username "root" with no password in the Users & Groups section of System Preferences, is no longer functional.

    Entering "root" without a password in lieu of an administrator's username and password no longer unlocks a Mac.

    When releasing the fix for macOS High Sierra 10.13.1, Apple apologized for the oversight and said it would audit its development processes to prevent something similar from happening in the future.

    "We greatly regret this error and we apologize to all Mac users, both for releasing with this vulnerability and for the concern it has caused," read a statement from Apple provided to MacRumors.

    Article Link: macOS High Sierra 10.13.2 Beta 6 Fixes Root Password Vulnerability
     
  2. realeric macrumors 65816

    realeric

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    United States
    #2
    Apple, please go back to basic. Reduce number of models. Lower the prices. Work on Mac mini, $649 iPhone X1, iPad running macOS, ...
     
  3. theheadguy macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2005
    Location:
    california
    #3
    I respect the accountability Apple has taken for this egregious oversight.
     
  4. iShater macrumors 604

    iShater

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    #4
    You remember back in the day when there were bazillion models and nobody could tell the difference between them? bad days.
     
  5. TheTissot11 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    Location:
    Germany
    #5
    Please fix the bugs with Spotlight and Finder that have been existing since Yosemite...
     
  6. TsMkLg068426 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    #6
    Apple time to get into technology not what looks cool and overpriced for just fanboys.
     
  7. dogslobber macrumors 68030

    dogslobber

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2014
    Location:
    Apple Campus, Cupertino CA
    #7
    Where is the PowerPC build of High Sierra? We're still waiting...
     
  8. Norbs12 macrumors 6502

    Norbs12

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2015
    Location:
    Mountain View, CA
    #8
    Anyone know what the second security update was that came out today for non-beta High Sierra? I saw the root update a few days ago and now this too?
     
  9. Swift macrumors 68000

    Swift

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #9
    Latest style at Apple sites: the anti-fanboy!
     
  10. Martyimac, Dec 1, 2017
    Last edited: Dec 2, 2017

    Martyimac macrumors 65816

    Martyimac

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Location:
    S. AZ.
    #10
    That's it, I'm done with Apple's beta testing program. Sixth time in a row a beta couldn't be installed. I'm tired of un-enrolling then re enrolling just to get a beta installed.
    Three strikes and you are out Apple.
     
  11. Jerry Fritschle macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
    #11
    AFAIK, the first update broke file sharing for some users, and the second one addressed that. As with the initial bug, Apple had previously issued a statement with the workaround.
     
  12. Kaibelf macrumors 68020

    Kaibelf

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    Location:
    Silicon Valley, CA
    #12
    Did you use terminal to install? It’s a lot easier to just use:

    sudo softwareupdate -ia

    Works very consistently for me and none of that enrollment stuff. That said, you seem to be pretty heated at finding that beta software isn’t perfect at all things. Why even participate if it upsets you like that?
     
  13. KPOM macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    #13
    What Mac are you running? I’ve never had an issue getting a beta installed.
     
  14. Martyimac, Dec 1, 2017
    Last edited: Dec 2, 2017

    Martyimac macrumors 65816

    Martyimac

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Location:
    S. AZ.
    #14
    2011 mini with an OWC SSD. It's only happened the last 6 betas of HS. Never before.
     
  15. amaze1499 macrumors regular

    amaze1499

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2014
    #15
    That’s why it’s called beta testing. Thanks.
     
  16. Martyimac macrumors 65816

    Martyimac

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Location:
    S. AZ.
    #16
    Not that heated, just disgusted. This has become an exercise in frustration. It appears that Apple doesn't care how frustrating they make it for the beta testers. And just checking the reports I have submitted, six (6) times the HS betas have failed to install going back to Oct. 26th, one for each beta step. That is how many bug reports I have submitted on the exact same issue.
    I fully understand what beta testing is and I expect bugs. As a matter of act I have submitted 33 bug reports. But I also expect apple to make an attempt to fix them. So to me, it looks like apple doesn't care. Never had this issue with the Sierra, El Capitan or Yosemite betas. And yes, all on the same machine configured the same for all four betas.
    As to the terminal install, I am not that savvy and have never heard of your method. Don't bother to explain though. If I cool off and stay as a beta tester, I'll continue on in apples program. That way at least I'm doing it the "official" way.
     
  17. Donovan Dillon macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2014
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    #17
    I’ve been beta testing for years with numerous Macs and have never once encountered the issue you’ve described with any beta including none of the High Sierra betas. This is also the first report I’ve seen of the issue you’re describing. Is it possible that there is an issue with your setup? Have you tried wiping your mini and doing a clean install of the latest stable release, then performing the beta update?
     
  18. Martyimac macrumors 65816

    Martyimac

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Location:
    S. AZ.
    #18
    If you mean completely starting from scratch with no operating system then the answer is no. But then that also means my bug reports should be valid because this issue only started with the HS beta for the .2 release. It did not happen for the .1 betas, not once.
     
  19. Kaibelf macrumors 68020

    Kaibelf

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    Location:
    Silicon Valley, CA
    #19
    Fair enough, but just for the record the terminal method is far from a hack or anything unofficial. It’s just a basic single command line entry.
     
  20. justperry macrumors G3

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #20

    Erm, what about...NO, there's no urgency in updating if root is enabled and a password is set.
     
  21. Martyimac macrumors 65816

    Martyimac

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Location:
    S. AZ.
    #21
    You have my curiosity piqued. I googled what you did and while I can see why it works, wouldn't the end result still produce a couldn't install error?
     
  22. ChrisA macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, California
    #22
    Why are you upset about finding a bug in a Beta release you should be HAPPY. After all this is the entire point of Beta, to find bugs. So you did something useful. I hope you file a report other then just here.

    All those people who say "Works for me>" are actually useless to the beta program It means they did not try hard enough to find bugs.
     
  23. Martyimac macrumors 65816

    Martyimac

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Location:
    S. AZ.
    #23
    Might I suggest you go back and read post #16.
     
  24. ChrisA macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, California
    #24
    It would be interesting to know what their development process is. It likely involves trying to determine how many users are affected by each bug and then ranking the bugs. At least that is what we would do back when I was in the business. I'd have a meeting every week to assign priorities to bugs and feature requests and to sign an engineer to the top ranked bugs.

    With Apple it is like also important if the bug effects new computers or only older ones. They like car a lot more about new computers.

    That said. Apple is now a cell phone company.
     
  25. BaltimoreMediaBlog macrumors 6502a

    BaltimoreMediaBlog

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2015
    Location:
    DC / Baltimore / Northeast
    #25
    I don't know if anyone noticed, but this update also lets you format a standard Hard Drive in APFS vs. HFS.

    I couldn't do that before. It wasn't an option. I haven't tried it yet. Anyone have some experience doing it?
     

Share This Page