MacOS Mojave metal supported GPU?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by high heaven, Aug 11, 2018.

  1. high heaven macrumors regular

    high heaven

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2017
    #1
    I have Nvidia GTX 1060 6gb but it's not AMD GPU and I wonder if I need to buy any AMD GPU in order to support Metal API for MacOS Mojave?

    Btw do I really need to download MacOS High Sierra in order to download MacOS Mojave?
     
  2. h9826790 macrumors G5

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #2
    NO and NO
     
  3. high heaven thread starter macrumors regular

    high heaven

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2017
    #3
    Really? I thought AMD support Metal API not Nvidia. How can I check if mine supports Metal?

    But I cant upgrade to Mojave unless I upgrade Hight Sierra first.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. yuzgen macrumors member

    yuzgen

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2018
    #4
    About Mac - Graphics & displays (or similar), you'll see metal support.

    For Mojave, please do what the installer says.

     
  5. h9826790, Aug 11, 2018
    Last edited: Aug 11, 2018

    h9826790 macrumors G5

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #5
    1080Ti Metal.png
    METAL.png

    Why?
    Screen Shot 2018-08-12 at 04.57.42.png
     
  6. Demigod Mac macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    #6
    Don't webdriver-only card owners have to use a command to get the Mojave installer to continue past the hardware check?
     
  7. high heaven thread starter macrumors regular

    high heaven

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2017
    #7
  8. h9826790 macrumors G5

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #8
    AFAIK, NO. I can run the 10.14 installer in the native way with just my 1080Ti installed.

    But that will be quite hard to install 10.14 with just the Maxwell / Pascal GPU. The whole installation process is not visible. And for new generation OS upgrade. There are often some confirmation (e.g. to confirm the policy for data sharing or privacy etc) required before can first boot to desktop.

    I am not 100% sure if screen sharing still work at that moment. If not, then there will be no way for a Maxwell / Pascal card user to see anything and continue the installation (and then install web driver etc).

    GT120 cannot be there otherwise the installer won't run (this may be able to bypass by the "command method". However, it's possible to run the installer with Maxwell / Pascal only, and then shutdown the Mac, swap in the GT120, and let the installation continue. Once 10.14 is installed, the GT120 will display (by the Mac EFI), and then we can install the web driver and swap the Maxwell / Pascal back in again.
    --- Post Merged, Aug 11, 2018 ---
    Why you want to do that now? There is no web driver for your 1060 yet.
     
  9. MarkC426 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #9
    Just checking....you do know Mojave is not complete yet, this is still beta, so shouldn’t be used on an active system?
     
  10. yuzgen macrumors member

    yuzgen

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2018
    #10
    Truth well told.
     
  11. verdejt macrumors 6502

    verdejt

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Location:
    Central Florida
    #11
    I had to upgrade to High Sierra in order for Mojave Beta to install. I was running Sierra. I think it's because there is a firmware upgrade for Mojave that is only in the High Sierra installer.
     
  12. h9826790 macrumors G5

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #12
    The firmware also included in the 10.14 installer.
     
  13. verdejt macrumors 6502

    verdejt

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Location:
    Central Florida
    #13
    I checked in the version installer I have there is no firmware folder. I know other people had versions that had it in there and some didn’t.
     
  14. h9826790 macrumors G5

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #14
    Install macOS Mojave Beta.app/Contents/Resources/Firmware
     
  15. verdejt macrumors 6502

    verdejt

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Location:
    Central Florida
    #15
    I know where to find it. I had replied to another thread where someone was looking for the firmware. I only found it in the High Sierra installer.
     
  16. h9826790 macrumors G5

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #16
    AFAIK, there is always a firmware for the cMP in the 10.14 full installer. The earlier version has the 0085.B00 firmware, and the latest are the 0089.B00.

    Did you download the full installer from Appstore?
     
  17. verdejt macrumors 6502

    verdejt

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Location:
    Central Florida
    #17
    yes I have kept all my installers and made bootable USB drives with them. I checked all the way back to Mavericks and only High Sierra has the firmware folder in it. I even checked the raw installers as they are on my NAS. Not sure if it makes a difference but I downloaded all of the MacOS installers with the exception Mojave on a 2010 iMac 27" I7. I just recently went to a mid2010 MacPro 8 core dual processor machine.
     
  18. h9826790 macrumors G5

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #18
    For me, Mojave's full installer always has the cMP firmware included. Always at the same location.
    Screen Shot 2018-08-13 at 04.29.29.png
     
  19. Demigod Mac macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    #19
    Would flashed Maxwell / Pascal cards have a visible Mojave install though?

    Mine is an MVC flashed GTX Titan X (Maxwell)
     
  20. tsialex macrumors 603

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #20
    Yep! Kepler/Maxwell/Pascal cards with Mac EFI have boot screens, boot selector, FileVault support, EFI flashing, Recovery and macOS install support.
     
  21. Susurs macrumors 65816

    Susurs

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    #21
    Does latest beta installer starts installing 10.14 automatically without any terminal command on MVC Nvidia cards, or does it reports that metal capabe gpu is needed?
     
  22. tsialex macrumors 603

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #22
    If the card is a Kepler/Maxwell/Pascal and support Metal, yes.

    No need of DP1/DP2 workaround since DP3.
     
  23. misanthrophy macrumors regular

    misanthrophy

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2018
    #23
    The last time I enabled FileVault it destroyed my whole configuration and you had to reconstruct my BootRom and a complete clean install.

    So I am afraid now if I could savely upgrade to 10.14 in the next couple of weeks without loosing NVMe boot support, bootpicker etc.
     
  24. tsialex macrumors 603

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #24
    Filevault is not supported on Mojave with a MP5,1, but all the rest is. The most recent build of Mojave did not bring any new firmware updates, still 138.0.0.0.0.

    If Apple releases a new BootROM, you will loose the NVMe EFI module and you will need to re-inject it again. That will be a game of cat and mouse.
     
  25. misanthrophy macrumors regular

    misanthrophy

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2018
    #25
    Okay, so as long as Apple does not release a new BootROM in the final Mojave version next week, I am totally fine with upgrading my system to 10.14? Right now, the main reason why I still think of upgrading is the Apple Home App and systemwide dark mode. it would be very convenient to change lights, fans, radiator etc. and keep it black everywhere. But if that means, all the rest I have like NVMe boot, NVMe drive shown as internal etc. would be gone, I rather stay on 10.13.6 and keep my iPad or iPhone next to me for HomeKit.
     

Share This Page

33 August 11, 2018