macOS Sierra Home Folder Capitalization

Discussion in 'macOS Sierra (10.12)' started by stark93, Sep 22, 2016.

  1. stark93 macrumors member

    stark93

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2012
    #1
  2. KALLT macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
  3. stark93 thread starter macrumors member

    stark93

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2012
    #3
  4. KALLT macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    #4
    What do you mean with ’that doesn’t work’?
     
  5. stark93 thread starter macrumors member

    stark93

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2012
    #5
    ... That https://support.apple.com/HT201548 does not work.

    Attached is the final result of following that guide
     

    Attached Files:

  6. KALLT macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    #6
    You are still not specific. Where did it go wrong? Have you renamed the home directory?
     
  7. stark93 thread starter macrumors member

    stark93

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2012
    #7
    Yeah I capitalized the "A"
     

    Attached Files:

  8. insomniac86 macrumors regular

    insomniac86

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    #8
    So I just did a clean install and noticed this too and it pissed me off (yeah I'm a fuss pot)

    Since I had only setup a brand new user with nothing configured (apart from iCloud).

    I resolved it by doing the following:

    1. Create a new Admin user (temp)

    2. Delete my first account

    3. Create my account again with the desired name (It allowed me to use a capital)

    4. Logged in with my new account and deleted the temp account.

    All is happy days
     

    Attached Files:

  9. KALLT macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    #9
    See step 2. You need to rename the directory itself too!
     
  10. insomniac86 macrumors regular

    insomniac86

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    #10
    Oh it looks like it only affects Aaron's!

    LOL
    --- Post Merged, Sep 22, 2016 ---
    If thats in reply to my post, I was asked to purge the Home Dir when removing the user. So that wasn't an issue.

    The reason I did my method over editing the user, back in previous versions of OSX I used to find it screwed with the Back to Mac, as the Apple ID field would malfunction after an edit. Also once you edited a user, it would always show up as a permission fault when running the old permissions checks. Just habit though.
     
  11. KALLT macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    #11
    It wasn’t directed at you. ;) He forgot to rename the home directory itself. He only edited the user record.
     
  12. stark93 thread starter macrumors member

    stark93

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2012
    #12
    Ah! It worked!! Thank you!
     
  13. KALLT macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    #13
    Did you do both now?
     
  14. stark93 thread starter macrumors member

    stark93

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2012
    #14
    No, I just created a new account. Like in the picture I posted before, I changed the user record AND the home directory and it still did not work.
     
  15. KALLT macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    #15
    You did log out, right? The instructions I linked to also required you to use a second account to do this.
     
  16. Skydoor Blue macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2016
    #16
    Just as a note, simply renaming things actually worked for me. I didn't need to create a new account.

    First I changed the details in for my account to capitalized versions (System Preferences > Users and Groups > User Name > right-click for Advanced options). Rebooted, then renamed my home folder via Finder. Everything works fine, there are no apparent extra folders etc. etc.

    When I first installed the macOS GM candidate I thought "I sure hope they change this in the release version", but they didn't. The work-arounds are there though. I suppose it is an issue only for new computer buyers and clean installers.
     
  17. insomniac86 macrumors regular

    insomniac86

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    #17
    Yeah it confuses me on why they did this.
     
  18. Machismo macrumors newbie

    Machismo

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2016
    Location:
    Germany
    #18

    :) Thanks for that ! I thought I might be the only fuss pot around. It really pissed me off that I couldn't have the first alphabet of my Home folder in uppercase, so I reverted to El Capitan.

    Apple Support via Twitter couldn't help me either. This was their reply, "Because the account name (short name) is used to create a user's home folder (also known as home directory), the account name and home folder name must match." :mad:

    Will try your tip when 10.12.1 is out. ;)

    @Skydoor Blue: Please keep us posted if you have any issues with your method.

    Thanks again.
     
  19. KALLT macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    #19
    Skydoor’s solution probably worked because the file system is still case-insensitive. As long as you only change the capitalisation, I suppose that it is acceptable. Don’t do this to change the name to something else though, programs may have a lock on certain files in the home directory. Also don’t do this if your file system is case-sensitive. You should log out instead and perform the change from another account.

    It may have something to do with Apple File System. So far, that system is case-sensitive, whereas HFS+ is case-insensitive by default. Apple has not disclosed whether they will keep this as the default in the future. A lowercase username is simply conventional on Unix systems, especially on file systems that are case-sensitive.
     
  20. insomniac86 macrumors regular

    insomniac86

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    #20
    Yeah I was thinking it might have been due to APFS. However you can use APFS as your boot drive (ATM), so not sure why they would have coded in this behaviour. Anyway, easily worked around.
     
  21. Gudi macrumors 68020

    Gudi

    Joined:
    May 3, 2013
    Location:
    Berlin, Berlin
    #21
    They're not wrong though. Remember, underneath it all you're running a UNIX system and your user ID is not supposed to be case-sensitive.
     
  22. chs3578 macrumors newbie

    chs3578

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2016
    #22

    THANK YOU! I LITERALLY CREATED AN ACCOUNT JUST TO THANK YOU.

    My OCD was driving me insane to the point where I reinstalled macOS THREE TIMES trying to get it to capitalize. I was, absolutely no joke, considering selling my Mac and buying a Windows (I HATE windows). It was unbearable to the point where I could barely use my computer because I cringed so hard at the lowercase. THANK YOU AGAIN! You saved me life
     
  23. insomniac86 macrumors regular

    insomniac86

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    #23
    No worries! Glad I could help :)
     
  24. shevpro macrumors newbie

    shevpro

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016
    #24
    You legend, just got the new MBP and the stupid lowercase moron made me reinstall the OS because I thought I'd made a typo, who the hell wants a 'home' folder urggghh
     
  25. insomniac86 macrumors regular

    insomniac86

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    #25
    Bloody Apple, that's my only response. lol
     

Share This Page