MacOS Sierra installation question.

Discussion in 'macOS Sierra (10.12)' started by maflynn, Jun 15, 2016.

?

Have you installed macOS 10.12 on your main boot drive?

  1. I installed it on my main system disk

    41 vote(s)
    51.9%
  2. I installed it on an external or secondary drive

    17 vote(s)
    21.5%
  3. I've not yet decided or installed it yet.

    19 vote(s)
    24.1%
  4. Installed it in a VM

    2 vote(s)
    2.5%
  1. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #1
    So have you guys (and gals) installed Sierra on your main drive?

    I was thinking how many brave souls there are to install it on the main system drive or those who used an external (or other secondary hard/ssd drive).
     
  2. saxon48 macrumors 6502a

    saxon48

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Location:
    Barad-dûr
    #2
    Installed on my main drive with no issues thus far. Quite solid for my usage needs, considering this is only the first dev preview. All my essentials are working perfectly (Firefox, MS Office, Transmission, Preview, Steam).
     
  3. AustinIllini macrumors demi-god

    AustinIllini

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    Location:
    Austin, USA
    #3
    I'm on the fence about the whole thing. I'll probably just hold off this year. I ran the Yosemite beta for the duration of the pre-release period and I ran El Cap for a month and put it back. I'm just going to wait this time around.
     
  4. BasicGreatGuy, Jun 15, 2016
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2016

    BasicGreatGuy Contributor

    BasicGreatGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Location:
    In the middle of several books.
    #4
    I installed on my main drive. I wanted to install on an external drive but, the ones I have are old school. I didn't want to go backwards (so to speak). I haven't had any real problems thus far. If I do have some major bugs pop up, I have two different back ups I can fall back on, to restore to El Capitan.
     
  5. John Mcgregor Suspended

    John Mcgregor

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2015
    Location:
    Newport
  6. gltzrsckchn macrumors newbie

    gltzrsckchn

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2016
    #6
    I installed it onto an USB3.0 drive (5400RPM) and it works fine. Welp, it's slower than my internal SSD, but anyone could have predicted that.
     
  7. OllyW Moderator

    OllyW

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Location:
    The Black Country, England
    #7
    I always worry about installing a new OS when it's officially released so there's no way I'd stick a beta on my main drive.
     
  8. Alonso Quijano macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2013
  9. campyguy macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2014
    Location:
    Portland / Seattle
    #9
    Installed on an external drive, a LaCie Rugged SSD, connected via its TB interface. I tried El Capitan last year and it worked well until I opted to install one of the later DPs on a partition on my main drive; El Cap is installed on a second partition on the LaCie drive. Agreed with the "no way" rationale regarding installing a beta OS on my main drive.

    I'm swapping the SSD between an older rMBP (mid-2012), my current rMBP (late-2013), and 2012 Mini Server. Keeping it a bit light right now - surfing, one iCloud account (that is not my main account) for Mail, and using iTM for iTunes. Zero issues so far...
     
  10. grahamperrin macrumors 601

    grahamperrin

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    #10
    I might install to a drive with throwaway data.
     
  11. dBeats macrumors 6502a

    dBeats

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011
    #11
    External 256GB SSD via USB 3.0. You gotta be nuts to install Dev beta 1 on your main drive, although in this case it's pretty damn stable. If you're a rich dev (I.e. Not me) and have multiple Macs for dev, then by all means go ahead on your main.
     
  12. redheeler macrumors 603

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #12
    It's the main OS on my 13" rMBP, but I do have a backup if something goes wrong.
     
  13. JamesMike macrumors demi-god

    JamesMike

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2014
    Location:
    Oregon
    #13
    I will wait awhile, I presently have EC installed and is working just fine.
     
  14. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #14
    I'll be installing the public beta it on a external SSD as I usually do when it's released next month. I won't risk my main drive with a beta.
     
  15. MadDane macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2015
    #15
    I am staying on El Capitan for the time being. I usually upgrade right after release so I will probably do the same again this time around.
     
  16. blasto2236 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2012
    #16
    Running on my main drive here. Nothing so annoying that it can't be ignored/worked around, and that's in DP 1.

    It's only going to get smoother as we go (although surely a few new things will break in DP2, etc...) and I don't really have anything on here that I can't live without should a worst case scenario cause me to revert back. I went all in with the cloud for my documents a year or two ago and never looked back. I keep a list of all my apps in Notes in case I ever need to reinstall manually.

    That would be the worst of it, and would take at most an evening to get things back where they were before the upgrade.
     
  17. iApplereviews macrumors newbie

    iApplereviews

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2016
    Location:
    The Internet
    #17
    I have and have not had any issues
     
  18. zoomos macrumors newbie

    zoomos

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    #18
    I installed it on my main SSD (Have a backup of course of el capitan if something goes wrong) and the only issue I've come across is when you're in full screen video and come out, the dock disappears and the only way to get it back is to either open an app from the applications folder or full restart and locations services doesn't seem to want to work with siri, when I ask about weather it keeps asking me to enable it but it is.

    If anybody else is having the same issue, let me know..

    [​IMG]
     
  19. maflynn thread starter Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #19
    I've installed betas on my main drive in the past, though I usually take CCC image of the drive beforehand. I've even split up my drive before, running both current and beta on two different partitions. Now that I have a Fusion drive (with a bootcamp drive already defined), I cannot partition the drive any further, so that leaves me with the main drive vs. external.

    As I mulled this over, I was curious to know what others were doing.
     
  20. OllyW Moderator

    OllyW

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Location:
    The Black Country, England
    #20
    10 years ago I would have probably risked it but I just want the easy life these days.
     
  21. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #21
    I couldn't agree more!
     
  22. dBeats macrumors 6502a

    dBeats

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011
    #22
    Old men, unite!
     
  23. mmomega macrumors demi-god

    mmomega

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Location:
    DFW, TX
    #23
    Out of about 35 Macs I've installed it on the main drive of 3 fairly different and diverse machines.
    a 2013 Mac Pro, a 2015 iMac, a 2015 retina MacBook and a 2014 Mac Mini.

    Hoping to get plenty of daily testing done across the greatest difference in hardware as I had available to me.

    None of these machines are "mission critical" so they were the safest options.

    Back in 2011'ish I put an early DP of Lion on a daily work computer and received some good learning experience as to why you don't put beta crap on important computer systems.

    Even on the machines I installed it on I Carbon Copy Clone them first and then install in case I need to go back to where I left off.
     
  24. ardchoille50 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2014
    #24
    Same here, I always wait for a month after the official release before installing. And, even then, I do a clean install.
     
  25. jameskoole macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    #25
    I've got a clone of my El Cap install, Backblaze and a Time Machine backup. Juuuuust in case.

    So far the upgrade:

    - nuked my desktop folders (lost in the iClouds). Restored the files from Backblaze.
    - blew up my Photos library thanks to some sort of DB error. It rebuilt it and then regenerated 21,075 thumbnails (the photos were still there).
    - broke Safari Extensions including 1Password, Buffer and Ghostery. They look to be deleted, but aren't. I periodically have to drag them back up to the toolbar to get things working again.
    - broke SMTP for my work mail. There's some new thing to "manage connections automatically" that doesn't. Fiddled around and overrode that so I could put them in manually and it all works fine now.
     

Share This Page