Macpro 1,1 el capitan updated now I can't boot

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Katmai, Nov 13, 2016.

  1. Katmai macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2016
    #1
    So like the title says I have a Mac Pro have el capitan running on it, it updated and now I can't boot. as far as I can tell this is because my boot.efi is hosed and I need to rebuild it to get the computer working again. I just don't know how to get that accomplished. If possible I could be pointed in the right direction to figure out how to save my boot efi. I have Lion also installed on the computer. so I do have access to running mac on this computer as well.
     
  2. jbarley macrumors 68030

    jbarley

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    #2
  3. Katmai thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2016
    #3
    Thank you so much for the link, I found this youtube video hxxps://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WgdwbUmG8Tc and it is a really straight forward process, a lot easier than I had worked myself up about, now time to read that forum and figure out how to stop it from happening in the future
     
  4. jbarley macrumors 68030

    jbarley

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
  5. Katmai thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2016
    #5
    Wow I feel really dumb, I went trough and did the entire post 1390 to get el capitan installed originally, If I would of just looked at the next post down It would of saved me hours of scrambling to fix my install. Thank you so much for the help.
     

Share This Page