Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

LRD777

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 12, 2011
Hello,

Is there a way to upgrade my macpro 1,1 with a faster processor? If this ? was already addressed, pls send me a link to the thread. I'm not a techie so all the tech words won't help me. I just need a parts seller and what type exactly do I need if it is possible. Thanks guys and gals for the help!

Warmly,

T

P.S. Does anyone also know why my macpro running 10.6.7 has almost always "permissions" corrupted issues? I almost have to run drive genius every other week...I am running Creative Suite, 3GB memory, 250GB HD, 1.5 TB external USB HD.

Every time I run Photoshop, Safari slows down and other programs...Then I run the Drive Genius and that's what it tells me : Permissions, invalid map node, it should be L-XX-R instead of yada, yada...LoL

Last edited:

GGJstudios

macrumors Westmere
May 16, 2008
P.S. Does anyone also know why my macpro running 10.6.7 has almost always "permissions" corrupted issues? I almost have to run drive genius every other week...
You should rarely have to repair permissions. What makes you think you have permissions issues?

Last edited:

100Years

macrumors regular
Mar 8, 2011
I had a Pro 1,1. Originally it was the stock dual 2.66GHz quad core configuration. Eventually I upgraded the machine to an 8-core, by dropping in two 3GHz quad core chips --- gave me a very big performance boost.

LRD777

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 12, 2011
I had a Pro 1,1. Originally it was the stock dual 2.66GHz quad core configuration. Eventually I upgraded the machine to an 8-core, by dropping in two 3GHz quad core chips --- gave me a very big performance boost.
Nice! You mean a chip or a new machine. If it's a chip/card please send me info in how and where to acquire it...Thx brother!

nanofrog

macrumors G4
May 6, 2008