Macpro 1,1 SSD. Help me choose one!

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Raidersmojo, Jun 11, 2011.

  1. Raidersmojo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2005
    Location:
    Burton michigan
    #1
    I am looking at two different SSD's right now and cannot decide which one I would like to go with or which works in a mac pro 1,1.

    New egg is having a sale on the corsair force for 169.99 and it includes the bay to change it from 2.5 to 3.5. it can be found here (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...S061111-_-EMC-061111-Index-_-index-_-20233160)

    The other is an intel SSD, does not have the bay, but I believe the write speeds are higher. (http://www.amazon.com/Intel-SATA-2-...TF8&coliid=I28Z4Y9CPFQ8H0&colid=2BMDLZ2YJP4OW)

    What is going to give me the best bang for the buck? Will both of these work in a mac pro 1,1?
     
  2. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #2
    Based on reliability, I'd go for the Intel.

    BTW, it's cheaper here. If you need to mount it (this is the OEM = disk only), then Velcro or Zip Ties will work (there are 3rd party solutions, but the DIY method mentioned is easier and cheaper).

    As per what SSD will work, so long as the disk has a SATA interface on it (most do), it will run in your system. :)
     
  3. tommyboy21 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #3
    Which drive did you end up going with? I'm contemplating what SSD I'm going to choose for my Mac Pro 1,1. I noticed that it was only $55 more to go from the Intel 320 to the Intel 510 series (Amazon prices). And while the Mac Pro 1,1 won't be able to take advantage of SATA III, at least I can move the drive over to a newer computer at a later time and get a nice speed bump. Not sure if that helps your decision. But I will be curious to hear if you go with the Intel how well it performs.
     
  4. SmilesLots macrumors regular

    SmilesLots

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Location:
    SW Virginia
    #4
    I bought two of the Intel G2's 80 GB and run them in a raid 1 configuration off the Mac's sata ports on the mother board. Works nice. I mounted them above the memory cage with some rubber wedges. They are fast. I'm waiting for the new 320 G3's to come down in price. The two Intel G2's that I bought came with adapters for making them mount as if .5 inch. But since the drives create so little heat, I decided to just mount the drives the way I did so as not to waste drive sled space.
     
  5. shinji macrumors 65816

    shinji

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    #5
    Did you have to remove the fan housing to do this?
     

Share This Page