MacPro 1,1 to Apple 27 Display

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by scholefn, Oct 19, 2018.

  1. scholefn macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #1
    Hi

    I have inherited a 27" Apple Display, I think it's the 'Thunderbolt' one from 2011-2016? I realise this is probably not possible after having googled for a while, but is there anyway I can connect my 2006 MacPro that is running an NVIDIA card (not the stock one). It's currently connected to a PC monitor via DVI and I'm successfully running El Capitan.

    I'm sure there'll be a few 'why do you want to do that' questions! Just wondering if there's anyway it's possible.

    Thanks

    Nick
     
  2. scholefn thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #3
    I think that's my problem. These adapators and cables are for going from Thunderbolt/Mini DisplayPort to DVI. They're not bi-directional. I need to go from DVI to Thunderbolt. The one you linked actually states it's not bi-directional. I'm thinking it's not very possible.
     
  3. chrfr macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #4
    The Thunderbolt displays are easily distinguished by the presence of an Ethernet port on the main body of the display and a small lightning symbol on the cable end.
    There is no way to use a Thunderbolt Display with a classic Mac Pro.

    There also existed a 27” Cinema Display which can be used with the Mac Pro but what you need there is an active DVI to Mini DisplayPort adapter. The Cinema Display does not have an Ethernet port on it.
     
  4. scholefn thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #5
    Thanks - I think that's what I thought. I haven't got it yet, so it might be the old one. I have a MacBook Pro that will connect to it, so might necessitate retiring the MacPro 1,1....although I do like it!
     
  5. pgilmore7 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2018
    #6
    I'm running a 27" Cinema Display on my 1,1 with a 5770 GPU. The 5770 has the MDP for the Display. A Thunderbolt Display won't work on a cheese grader.
     
  6. scholefn thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #7
    Thanks. If it is the Cinema one then I'll pursue further.
     

Share This Page

6 October 19, 2018