Macpro 1.1

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by macgru, Sep 16, 2016.

  1. macgru macrumors newbie

    macgru

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2016
    #1
    Hi i bought one of these recenty without really knowing what i bought.It is 2.0 dual core with 2gb of ram and 2 160gb hd.I thought the case was nice and could have been repurposed if it was not going to work. I have been reading with interest what upgrades is possible. The cpu,s X5365 some ram 32gb and a pcie ssd seems reasonable. I would also like to use el capitan or sierra if possible. I am going to use it for audio production sync it with my windows box offload Kontakt on to it thru networking. I think for an old machine it is still very viable 24ghz and 32gb ram is not to be sneezed at especially for the money you are paying for the parts. I recently built a Core X9650 system for someone man was it fast it only had 4 gb and a spinner. I have a core 3.5 i5K with 12 gb W7 box. Not sure how the 2 would compare bets it's not too far away. I think the best idea would be to get El Capitan working on the original hardware before splashing out on cpus and ram. Is there any good guides for this
     
  2. keysofanxiety macrumors 604

    keysofanxiety

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #2
    Max OS on your model is Lion (10.7.5). Though I'd recommend Snow Leopard (10.6.8) over that. It's much better.

    The RAM is only 667MHz, and whilst dual X5365s are nothing to be scoffed at, even the 2.3GHz quad-core i7 in the 2012 Mac Mini makes mincemeat of it.

    If you're looking to run El Cap, and for your usage with Kontakt AUs/VSTs, I think a used 2012 Mac Mini with an SSD/16GB RAM would be a much better choice. Will likely be cheaper than the upgrades you're proposing.
     
  3. macgru, Sep 16, 2016
    Last edited: Sep 16, 2016

    macgru thread starter macrumors newbie

    macgru

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2016
    #3
    I have the spares i need handy even the ssd it will come in at under £150 including the computer.Mac Mini's start at £500 If i flash it up to 2.1 can i run El Capitan
     
  4. Morpheo macrumors 65816

    Morpheo

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2014
    Location:
    Paris/Montreal
    #4
    El Capitan will run just fine even if it's not flashed. As long as you have a proper video card. On mine El Capitan (10.11.6) runs perfectly with the 5770 - though if you can go for a 7950 that would be an even better choice.

    You mentioned Sierra in your first post, we don't know yet if Sierra is going to work on the 1,1/2,1 MP. There's hope but nothing concrete right now. I guess we'll know more when the official release is out.
     
  5. macgru thread starter macrumors newbie

    macgru

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2016
    #5
    I have am old gtx 650 ti 1 gb gaming performance is not top of the list.It is for a pc could this be flashed to work with it
     
  6. orph macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    nvidia gpu info
    http://forums.macrumors.com/threads...out-nvidia-pc-non-efi-graphics-cards.1440150/
    dont think the card can be "flashed" but i think it will just work in osx 10.8+ (maybe 10.7)
    you do not need to "flash" most cards to make them work, the card will or wont work read the linked topic for more info.

    i use a GTX 660 with no problem in my macpro, not flashed or anything works fine.
    what card is already in it?

    for hdmi audio http://forums.macrumors.com/threads/guide-hdmi-audio.1499797/
    if you want to plug in to a tv or something.
    used to have my macpro plugged in to my AV receiver via hdmi, used to play music that way (tv turned off) as you can just chose the hdmi as an audio out.

    to go past osx10.7 you will need to use the hack thing, it's not hard to do just read up on it.

    i dont know what i5 you have in your windows box bot id bet it's a lot faster than anymacpro 1.1/2.1/3.1
    and i mean lot
     
  7. macgru thread starter macrumors newbie

    macgru

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2016
    #7
    Thats good to know. I remember having trouble with macs because there hardware was locked down. It will be running audio thru a focusrite 18i6 usb. There is a mac driver available. It's 7300gt i am sure Jesus had one of them :). It's a i5 4690k oc 4.4 ghz i,m sure the mac pro will be ok. All the hard work will be done by the main
     
  8. orph macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    yep almost anything is an upgrade over a 7300gt, anything :p even a piece of wood
    keep it safe somewhere in case you have problems.

    have fun but dont spend much money on that 1.1 it's not worth it your win 7 box will be so much faster.
     
  9. macgru thread starter macrumors newbie

    macgru

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2016
    #9
    Like i said less than 150 which to me is great for a fully loaded computer that runs Mac OSX. I want to move away from using my windows box for the net. OSX seems a bit more secure. Plus i can learn a bit more about OSX. Only time i ever see it is when i am repairing a mac
     
  10. orph macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #10
    :D well that's the correct resion to get a 1.1-3.1 for fun.

    you can pick up used server ram with small heatsinks fairly cheep on ebay,

    (if you want once your done with it you can strip it out and make a hackingtosh inside the case)
     
  11. ITguy2016 Suspended

    Joined:
    May 25, 2016
    #11
    Can you elaborate on this? What, specifically, do you feel makes OS X more secure?
     
  12. macgru thread starter macrumors newbie

    macgru

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2016
    #12
    If you had seen some of the disasters of windows computers. I have had to deal with over the years. The computer is only as secure as the persons ability to keep it secure. Plus OSX is based on unix which is not a Bill Gates lash up of stolen and bought tech lol.Windows 10 the NSA version put me off windows for life. I cannot give that to anyone without feeling guilt. So windows has become end of life for me stuck at 7
     
  13. orph macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #13
    :p yep as secure as the user :E and iv seen some unsure users on osx too XD
    i gave up asking people 'why did you click on that? are you stupid'


    if the macpro is a fun box for music then it's a good option no one is safe online :D

    ps i run win 7 on my macpro too :eek: win 10 is still to buggy + my gpu is too week for DX12 and so few games run DX12 at the mo it's not yet a thing.
     
  14. macgru thread starter macrumors newbie

    macgru

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2016
    #14
    The only reason to get Win 10 is for DX12 there is nothing else i can think of. It is going to be a few years before the gaming companies catch up. Anyway i only play 2 games a really tedious and boring business sim making cars and World of warships. Warships thru my monitors sounds like the world is going to end great fun. Neither need dx12
     
  15. CapnDavey macrumors 6502

    CapnDavey

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2015
    #15
    Still have mine it runs Yosemite and Mavericks with an ATI 4870 that I flashed. you can ask add a blu ray burner with an added cable SATA.
     
  16. macgru thread starter macrumors newbie

    macgru

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2016
    #16
    I have a 4870 that i was going to use initially to see how stable it is to start with. Not flashed it yet so thats first on the list. I only have molex to 6 pin so ordered new 6 pin to 6 pin £3.85
     
  17. CapnDavey macrumors 6502

    CapnDavey

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2015
    #17
    it will work unflashed it takes longer to boot and some things don't work right but that card is easy to flash .also look around do some digging you may find a good deal on ram. Try and buy the stuff with the large heatsinks it runs cooler
     
  18. macgru thread starter macrumors newbie

    macgru

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2016
    #18
    Thanks for your help as long as i can see the screen. Just wait for the cables now
     
  19. macgru thread starter macrumors newbie

    macgru

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2016
    #19
    Bought 16 gb ram for 15 quid Crucial with heat spreaders
     
  20. ITguy2016 Suspended

    Joined:
    May 25, 2016
    #20
    Perhaps I missed it but I didn't see an answer to my question. With that out of the way yes, OS X is based on UNIX. Is that supposed to mean something more than OS X's underpinnings are different than Windows?
     
  21. haralds macrumors 6502

    haralds

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Silicon Valley, CA
    #21
    I had no trouble getting Mavericks and El Capitan to work. As you probably know, Sierra will take more work due to lack of SSE4 processor support. The RAM will slow it down.
    More RAM and an SSD make a YUUUGE performance difference.
    Since I have a 5,1, the 1,1 upgraded to 2,1 is a backup machine, but I would never sell it. It is running two 3.0Ghz with 8 cores with 32GB of RAM and a Radeon 5870 GPU. In normal use, it is hard to tell the difference between it and my 5,1.
     
  22. jbarley macrumors 68030

    jbarley

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    #22
    Security...
    Unix is built more secure then MS windows from the get-go, therefore it is easier to keep it more secure which in the end leads to fewer malicious attacks.
    Anti-viral software for MS Windows Operating systems is a major industry, not so much for Unix.
    http://www.kernelthread.com/publications/security/uw.html
    https://www.google.ca/search?q=viru...&oe=utf-8&gws_rd=cr&ei=ubXiV5uIJ8jTjAOzpYrIAQ
     
  23. ITguy2016 Suspended

    Joined:
    May 25, 2016
    #23
    Again you answered with "because it's UNIX' without providing any specifics as to what, about UNIX, makes it more secure than MS Windows "from the get-go".

    The Kernel Thread link doesn't provide any specifics either (though I may have missed it as I merely skimmed most of the article due to it's 2004 publication date. Surely you can find something more current?). Likewise a link to malware attacks from Google doesn't provide the answer either. The most popular platform, by far, is going to be targeted. I'd agree with you that UNIX, including OS X, is safer for this reason. But more secure? You'll need to provide specifics.
     
  24. macgru thread starter macrumors newbie

    macgru

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2016
    #24
    Hi i am having trouble getting a boot screen it is just black. It seems to boot up ok with no warning lights and makes the boing sound starts loading the os but no video. I am trying to use a hd 4870 512 mb and i have tried an x1950 both for pc.I have the right cables for it. And have tried different pcie ports Is that the problem?.
     
  25. CapnDavey macrumors 6502

    CapnDavey

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2015
    #25
    If that 4870 is the standard card with the fan in the rear you can flash it with the oem rom if its aftermarket card. there are roms for those to free dos cd and a small hd fat 32 partition with the rom a flasher on there works well do some digging on here
     

Share This Page