Macpro 2008 Sata III on HDD bootable

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by sbab, Oct 25, 2012.

1. sbab macrumors member

Bought a cheap sata III card (asmedia $12) and connected it with a SSD, it did wonders to my macpro3,1.
    I realise that the SSD was not operating at its full potential but the result was impressive.
    I'm not a professional video guy, I do a little bit of everything, nothing heavy, I just want to upgrade and take advantage of sata III.
    I read an article about connecting the HDD's to sata III with a mini sas cable from a raid card (unbootable). That was 12 months ago and I recently contacted them to see if things had changed and if bootable cards were available, they didn't know.
    I would like everything to be internal if at all possible.
    What I would like to do is have bootable sata III on the HDD's.
    It doesn't worry me if the card is raid or not.
    Price is a concern but I'm told you pay for what you get!
    Anyone help
    John

2. sbab thread starter macrumors member

I had hoped for a reply, maybe this time.

Reading how fast SSD's are I bought one and installed it in the lower optical bay.
    I bought a cheap bootable sataIII card and hooked them up.

Using the AJA read/write test 4G .
    I tested the OWC 120G SSD with the sataIII card in the pcie slot 2 (x16) the result was about 370mb/s for both read and write.
    Moving the sata card to slot 3 (x4?) the read was 190 and write 160.
    My sata hard drive (Maxtor) was 43 read and 39 write.

I want to have all the HDD bays bootable with sataIII 6g
    A pcie sataIII card is required one that has mini sas connectors, a cable (1m max) connects the card to the mini sas connectors on the motherboard?? I believe the 4 HDD bays require no other cabling.

Finding a suitable sat card.
    It must be bootable.
    Have internal and external ports.
    Raid is optional.
    Price is reasonable.