MacPro 2009 2.66 RAM upgrade?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by skoobey, Oct 16, 2013.

  1. skoobey macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2013
    #1
    So, I have a 2009 macPro and it is getting really slugish and hoging my hard drives, as I have 6gb of RAM, but that is obviously not enough for my 16bit 20-80mpix Photoshop PSD files.

    I know it's a lack of ram, as it works perfectly when I edit at 8bit, or smaller resolution files(I checked the Appication monitor).

    HOW DO I EXPAND THIS RAM???

    I have no idea what modules work for my Mac? And all the info around the forums I've found links to manufacturers I don't have at my disposal. Is it any DDR3? But what if it's a t 2000+mhz? Will it still work at lower speeds that my computer supports?

    Could I just add a 16gb into an empty slot? Or, do I need to sell of my existing ram? (I only have the budget for 16gb, be it in a single module or 2x8gb)?:eek:

    Also, I live in an isolated country, so I can't order anything online(shipping and customs would add 100% to the price).:confused:

    Could these work?

    KINGSTON
    16GB (2x8GB) 2400MHz DDR3 HyperX Beast KHX24C11T3K2/16X

    KINGSTON
    16GB (2x8GB) 1866MHz DDR3 HyperX Predator KHX18C9T2K2/16X

    KINGSTON
    16GB (2x8GB) 1600MHz DDR3 KHX16C9T3K2/16X

    I also have an option for IBM and HP, but I'd rather avoid them if possible, especially HP.
     
  2. MacUser2525 macrumors 68000

    MacUser2525

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #2
    While I have seen posts with people putting in the non-ECC PC ram and it working your MP uses ECC ram at 1066mhz, it is probably best to get them to ensure compatibility. And yes the theory is that higher speed ram will work it is supposed to drop its speed to what the machine requests it to run at however sometimes if you mix higher speed modules with lower it will screw up the boot process.
     
  3. Studio K macrumors 6502

    Studio K

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Location:
    United States
    #3
    It might be prudent to play it safe and just buy a new set of Ram. OWC sells ram that is guaranteed to be compatible with the 2009 Mac Pro. You could buy 3 dimms (to utilize your triple channel memory) at 4 or 8 GBs per dimm giving you 12 or 24GB or ram.

    Everything will be more likely to work well if you have a matching set of ram modules: Same size, same manufacturer.
     
  4. Umbongo macrumors 601

    Umbongo

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #4
    KINGSTON
    16GB (2x8GB) 1600MHz DDR3 KHX16C9T3K2/16X

    I'd buy this, use it on its own and you should be okay. Just return it if it doesn't work. It should just down clock to 1066MHz. IBM and HP RAM is just the same RAM you get from Apple. If you can get 1066Mhz or 1333MHz cheaper get that.
     
  5. skoobey thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2013
    #5
    Oooh, it's about ECC, I'll check which of those has ECC... if any... In the meantime I found this, but it says it's for IBM? Lol:D

    I don't want it to mess up my computer.

    At it's price, I could get 3 of these, and if they work well and all, sell my 3x2gb and have enough memory to last me for quite some time.

    KINGSTON
    8GB 1333MHz DDR3 ECC Reg for IBM Desktop
     
  6. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #6
    I would strongly recommend getting 1300Mhz RAM, that way if you ever upgrade the CPU you won't have to replace the RAM to get higher speeds.
     
  7. Umbongo macrumors 601

    Umbongo

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #7
    Get that.
     
  8. Plutonius macrumors 603

    Plutonius

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    #8
    Earlier in the year, I installed three 8 GB dimms for a total of 24GB in my 2009 Mac Pro and I bought them from OWC (Other World Computing - MacSales.com). It's very simple to install the RAM and I can recommend buying from OWC.

    Note - For the quad core (single processor) 2009 Mac Pro, they recommend using 3 dimms (not the forth). As mentioned, they also recommend matching (same size / manufacturer).
     

Share This Page