MacPro 3,1 7970 yosemite glitching issues

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by macmannate, Nov 9, 2014.

  1. macmannate macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2014
    #1
    Guys,

    Put a 7970 in my mac pro its glitching and artifacting with in os x 10.10, but not windows.

    Its a gigabyte 7970 wind force oc 3gb how do i fix :(
     
  2. Zwhaler macrumors 603

    Zwhaler

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    #2
    Is it flashed or plugged in OOB? Are you experiencing graphical tearing? That is a known bug with the R9 280X even when flashed properly, and the 7970 is an almost identical card... though getting it properly flashed reduces the frequency of said tearing significantly.
     
  3. macmannate thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2014
    #3
    Yeh tearing and glitching.

    It's with. Non reference one, it's a high end over clocked winforce one I'm using.

    Going to swap for a reference sapphire to fix it hopefully?
     

    Attached Files:

  4. netkas macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    #4

    Try card in non-flashed mode
     
  5. Zwhaler macrumors 603

    Zwhaler

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    #5
    Hm. That is not the flavor of tearing I was referring to, take netkas advice!
     
  6. macmannate thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2014
  7. Zwhaler macrumors 603

    Zwhaler

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    #7
    Have you experienced the same glitches at the normal clock? Or use the same clock and try flashing it, if you know what you're doing.
     
  8. macmannate thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2014
    #8
    I understand the basics just don't have a rom or anything todo it with.

    ----------


    standard over clocked card, standard ghz then oc'ed i think its the bios of the card messing with os x, but in windows its a fricken beast not as good as my 4770k with 2x 290's flashed to 290x's but she is freaking quick.
     
  9. macmannate thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2014
    #9
    Put sapphire 7970 reference in amaze balls works perfectly
     
  10. macmannate, Nov 10, 2014
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2014

    macmannate thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2014
    #10
    can i ask for help for a flash for my 7970 sapphire that isn't running 5gts in os x but is in windows, I've removed the r17 resisto, oh and some reason when I shut it down the screen goes black and a white square in the left hand top corner appears and turns off?
     

Share This Page