Macpro 3,1 + hd6990

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Aerodynamic, Oct 26, 2011.

  1. Aerodynamic, Oct 26, 2011
    Last edited: Oct 26, 2011

    Aerodynamic macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    #1
    Hello.
    I've recently purchased the hd6990 4gb for a good deal and installed it on my macpro. The thing is eventhough i bought the 8pin adapters the card requires 150w per pcie connector, and i also found out that my macpro psu only is capable of 75w per pcie connector. Is there anyway to change the psu? I'm guessing a third party psu wont work with the macpro?

    The card kijd of works but after playing a game for 5 minutes the pc just shuts down.
    Btw, im using windows 7 64bit via bootcamp.
    Thanks
     
  2. flatfoot macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    #2
  3. Aerodynamic thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    #3
    They say the card can cnsume up to 450w at full stress...

    Btw, just for curiosity, what is the specsof my psu? ( macpro 3,1)
     
  4. Inconsequential macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    #5
  5. Aerodynamic thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    #6
    So is the best solution that 450w additional psu?
     
  6. Aerodynamic thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    #7
    Is there anyway i could work with the current psu i have now?
    I can't seem to be able to find that additional psu except for american websites.
     

Share This Page