MacPro 5,1 Updated graphics card questions

Dirdled

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 19, 2010
7
0
Hi Everyone, I recently decided to try to add a couple more years of usefulness to my trusty old 5,1. Since the Original Graphics card (HD 5770) didn't support Metal, I decided to get a card that would. After quite a bit of research I decided the most cost effective way to do this would be to get an RX 560 card. It was going to be fairly inexpensive, would support Metal, and I figured it would be quite a bit faster. Well I got the card it installed fine, and now Metal is supported. Now here's the part I don't understand...If I have my monitor plugged into the new RX560 card and I try to use a program that requires Metal, It's unusable, lots of glitches. I also missed the start-up options (single user mode/recovery mode/etc), those don't seem to work on the new card. What I did is I decided, I'd put the old card in with the new one so I could switch which card I plug the monitor in, and see if that would help. What I found out is If I have the monitor plugged into the HD5770 card I can use the programs fine, plus I get access to all the startup options. Also it doesn't seem to matter what card I use I don't see any speed increase. So I'm wondering if there's something else I need to do, I zapped the pram and things like that, Any ideas? I'm not really complaining, because I never thought my computer was too slow, it's just I don't understand what I'm seeing. Here's what my set up is, let me know if there's any other info that might be helpful


Mac Pro 5,1 (Mid 2010)
Processor: 2 x 2.4 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon
Memory: 32 GB 1066 MHz DDR3
Graphics Cards: ATI Radeon HD 5770 1024 MB and Radeon RX 560
 

fhturner

macrumors 6502a
Nov 7, 2007
588
369
Birmingham, AL & Atlanta, GA
I don't have an answer for you right off the bat, but I'm interested to know what macOS version you're running, as well as which exact RX 560 (brand, model, VRAM) you got. That might help us start looking in the right direction.
 

Dirdled

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 19, 2010
7
0
I don't have an answer for you right off the bat, but I'm interested to know what macOS version you're running, as well as which exact RX 560 (brand, model, VRAM) you got. That might help us start looking in the right direction.
Sure, I'm using OS Version 10.13.6, and the card is the MSI Aero ITX with 4GB of memory
 

bsbeamer

macrumors 68040
Sep 19, 2012
3,650
1,928
Are you using both GPUs in the system at the same time?
How are you powering the GPU?
 

Dirdled

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 19, 2010
7
0
Are you using both GPUs in the system at the same time?
How are you powering the GPU?
both cards are in the machine, but I only have one monitor so only one is actually being used at a time (unless they share cycles or something) and the main reason I got the card I did is because it's bus powered, it didn't need any extra cables
 

Dirdled

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 19, 2010
7
0
Remove the 5770 from system. Use only the RX560.
Do you continue to have the issues?
When I do that I can use "normal" applications just fine, Using ones that require Metal have the glitchy video issue. I still don't notice any speed increase though
 

bsbeamer

macrumors 68040
Sep 19, 2012
3,650
1,928
The MSI Aero ITX RX 560 4GB is not on Apple's recommended list for Mojave. That MAY be part of the issue. Waiting until you're on Mojave MAY fix the issues with the newer available drivers.

If there is anyone else with that specific GPU, maybe they can help you out. Personally would suggest using one of the two specifically recommended GPUs instead, but you're going to find a lot more support and user documentation of experiences with the Sapphire PULSE RX 580 8GB on this forum. Many here have that card and could help troubleshoot issues.

https://support.apple.com/macos/mojave:
"mid 2010 or mid 2012 models with recommended Metal-capable graphics processor, including MSI Gaming Radeon RX 560 and Sapphire Radeon PULSE RX 580"
 

Dirdled

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 19, 2010
7
0
The MSI Aero ITX RX 560 4GB is not on Apple's recommended list for Mojave. That MAY be part of the issue. Waiting until you're on Mojave MAY fix the issues with the newer available drivers.

If there is anyone else with that specific GPU, maybe they can help you out. Personally would suggest using one of the two specifically recommended GPUs instead, but you're going to find a lot more support and user documentation of experiences with the Sapphire PULSE RX 580 8GB on this forum. Many here have that card and could help troubleshoot issues.

https://support.apple.com/macos/mojave:
"mid 2010 or mid 2012 models with recommended Metal-capable graphics processor, including MSI Gaming Radeon RX 560 and Sapphire Radeon PULSE RX 580"
Ok, thanks for your time...I found a few places that said this card would work, so I thought I was good...I also don't really understand the video card game, when I looked at a number of comparable RX 560 Cards Sapphire was one of them. I went with MSI Because there was a youtube that was using MSI Cards, I can't remember now if it was the exact same card I ended up getting or not.
 

namethisfile

macrumors 65816
Jan 17, 2008
1,184
163
The MSI Aero ITX RX 560 4GB is not on Apple's recommended list for Mojave. That MAY be part of the issue. Waiting until you're on Mojave MAY fix the issues with the newer available drivers.

If there is anyone else with that specific GPU, maybe they can help you out. Personally would suggest using one of the two specifically recommended GPUs instead, but you're going to find a lot more support and user documentation of experiences with the Sapphire PULSE RX 580 8GB on this forum. Many here have that card and could help troubleshoot issues.

https://support.apple.com/macos/mojave:
"mid 2010 or mid 2012 models with recommended Metal-capable graphics processor, including MSI Gaming Radeon RX 560 and Sapphire Radeon PULSE RX 580"
The MSI Aero ITX RX 560 looks like the card Apple specifically supports. Apple calls it "MSI Gaming Radeon RX 560." But, if you notice at the packaging, it is also called Aero ITX.

I don't know why you're system is glitching, though. If you wanna use the HD5770 and RX 560 together, one can. And, if you want startup logo, then you need to connect a monitor to the HD5770, as well as, a monitor to the RX 560.

I have used HD5770 and RX 460 together in dual monitor setups with no issues.

You also cannot notice performance gain with RX 560 by just browsing the web or using applications that doesn't push the system or the GPU.

You probably need to edit in FCPX to notice the performance gain. Or, run a game... using either GPU's.... or run a GPU benchmark app or Geekbench or something....

But, it is hard to decipher differences between HD5770 and RX460, in my experience, in regards to UI smoothness, etc... this is in MacOS 10.13.6 High Sierra....
 

bsbeamer

macrumors 68040
Sep 19, 2012
3,650
1,928
What forum was that specific card recommended? I'd trust Apple's recommendations until Mojave is out of beta. Public release is less than two weeks away and there may be more information by then.

MSI and Sapphire are licensing/reselling the AMD GPU technology as "manufacturers".
There are individual "brands" from each "manufacturer" such as PULSE, GAMING, AERO and many others.
The GPU "model" is (Radeon) RX 560/580.

On the surface your specific card seems underpowered within a Mac Pro, but if others report success it may work. Regardless, to troubleshoot I'd recommend using ONLY the RX 560 OR the 5770 at this time. There have been glitches that others have reported with two cards from different "manufacturers" when the specs do not match.

I'm much more familiar with NVIDIA cards and how individual "manufacturers" modify GPUs for sale. Basically anything that strays from the reference design (not Founders Edition with 10XX series) CAN cause compatibility issues with the NVIDIA Web Driver. Some are better than others. With AMD cards there are no "web drivers" to choose from, so you're "stuck" with the built-in Apple driver. Because of that, I'd stick with their recommendation.
[doublepost=1536784354][/doublepost]
The MSI Aero ITX RX 560 looks like the card Apple specifically supports. Apple calls it "MSI Gaming Radeon RX 560." But, if you notice at the packaging, it is also called Aero ITX.
I'm not 100% familiar with the lower end AMD cards and how they are repackaged. If that is the case, the card SHOULD be supported under Mojave. There may be issues with High Sierra that theoretically could be addressed with an updated driver, but that is unlikely.
 

PianoPro

macrumors 6502
Sep 4, 2018
281
150
The MSI Aero ITX RX 560 is the "MSI Gaming Radeon RX 560" card recommended by Apple for MOJAVE. It is not officially supported for High Sierra in the Mac Pro. It has problems with glitching and frame buffer issues on benchmarks and certain games using High Sierra. NONE of those problem show up when using Mojave.

Unfortunately, you can NOT boot into Mojave when the HD5770 is ALSO installed in the Mac Pro, even if it is not connected to any monitor. I've tried to find a way to disable the HD5770 so I can leave it unconnected in the Mac Pro (so I could reconnect it to get a Boot screen, or use HS, or use other earlier Mac OS's - such as Snow Leopard or El Capitan which are compatible with the 5770, but won't produce any video output with the RX-560). If anyone has a solution to disable the HD5770 so Mojave will boot I'd love to hear it.

So bottom line - you can use the 5770 and RX-560 with HS, but the RX-560 will produce glitches in some programs, have 1080p full screen frame buffering problems in some applications (Civ 5 for instance), and occasionally, but not frequently, produces glitches and flashes just displaying the desktop. You can NOT have the 5770 in the Mac and boot into Mojave. So if you want Mojave you must use the RX-560, but if you want HS you are better off with the 5770. And if you want earlier OS's, you must use the 5770.
 
  • Like
Reactions: ArekWojciechowski

Dirdled

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 19, 2010
7
0
The MSI Aero ITX RX 560 is the "MSI Gaming Radeon RX 560" card recommended by Apple for MOJAVE. It is not officially supported for High Sierra in the Mac Pro. It has problems with glitching and frame buffer issues on benchmarks and certain games using High Sierra. NONE of those problem show up when using Mojave.

Unfortunately, you can NOT boot into Mojave when the HD5770 is ALSO installed in the Mac Pro, even if it is not connected to any monitor. I've tried to find a way to disable the HD5770 so I can leave it unconnected in the Mac Pro (so I could reconnect it to get a Boot screen, or use HS, or use other earlier Mac OS's - such as Snow Leopard or El Capitan which are compatible with the 5770, but won't produce any video output with the RX-560). If anyone has a solution to disable the HD5770 so Mojave will boot I'd love to hear it.

So bottom line - you can use the 5770 and RX-560 with HS, but the RX-560 will produce glitches in some programs, have 1080p full screen frame buffering problems in some applications (Civ 5 for instance), and occasionally, but not frequently, produces glitches and flashes just displaying the desktop. You can NOT have the 5770 in the Mac and boot into Mojave. So if you want Mojave you must use the RX-560, but if you want HS you are better off with the 5770. And if you want earlier OS's, you must use the 5770.
Thanks for the info...
 

markmanley

macrumors newbie
Nov 26, 2018
1
0
San Jose
Thanks for the info...
Thanks for this discussion - we have the same situation: MacPro 5,1, with 5770 card. We are unable to boot into HS with the 560 only installed, for some reason - just no video at all. Any ideas? With both the 5770 and the 560, it works great. But we are unable to install Mojave with that config. What are we missing? Thanks in advance!!
 

TheIguana

macrumors 6502a
Sep 26, 2004
656
389
Canada
Thanks for this discussion - we have the same situation: MacPro 5,1, with 5770 card. We are unable to boot into HS with the 560 only installed, for some reason - just no video at all. Any ideas? With both the 5770 and the 560, it works great. But we are unable to install Mojave with that config. What are we missing? Thanks in advance!!
Do you have FileVault enabled?
 

BelgianBoy

macrumors member
Jun 19, 2018
71
5
Belgium
I have 2 GPU: flashed GT 640 to have metal+bootscreen and GTX970 with nVidia webdriver 387.10.10.10.40.118
I run High Sierra 10.13.6 17G5019 with 140.0.0.0.0 BootROM. Startupdisc is PCI nvme SSD 1TB.
When I use the webdriver my GTX won't work, although up-to-date driver. The GTX is not even recognised in sysinfo!
Is that because of the GT 640?
 

mono tech

macrumors newbie
Sep 3, 2019
5
0
The MSI Aero ITX RX 560 looks like the card Apple specifically supports. Apple calls it "MSI Gaming Radeon RX 560." But, if you notice at the packaging, it is also called Aero ITX.

I don't know why you're system is glitching, though. If you wanna use the HD5770 and RX 560 together, one can. And, if you want startup logo, then you need to connect a monitor to the HD5770, as well as, a monitor to the RX 560.

I have used HD5770 and RX 460 together in dual monitor setups with no issues.

You also cannot notice performance gain with RX 560 by just browsing the web or using applications that doesn't push the system or the GPU.

You probably need to edit in FCPX to notice the performance gain. Or, run a game... using either GPU's.... or run a GPU benchmark app or Geekbench or something....

But, it is hard to decipher differences between HD5770 and RX460, in my experience, in regards to UI smoothness, etc... this is in MacOS 10.13.6 High Sierra....
Hi,

I am new to this forum and I need some help. I just purchased the Aero card, installed it in my Mac Pro mid 2010 and I am getting a blank scree. I have it connected to the monitor via dvi cable.
Should I have both cards(5770 and Rx 560) instal in the Mac for the first run before removing the 5770? And if that is the case, can I use any pci-e slot as the top one is occupied by the ssd.

Thank you for the support.
 

PianoPro

macrumors 6502
Sep 4, 2018
281
150
Hi,

I am new to this forum and I need some help. I just purchased the Aero card, installed it in my Mac Pro mid 2010 and I am getting a blank scree. I have it connected to the monitor via dvi cable.
Should I have both cards(5770 and Rx 560) instal in the Mac for the first run before removing the 5770? And if that is the case, can I use any pci-e slot as the top one is occupied by the ssd.

Thank you for the support.
Are you using Mojave? Are you using HS and Filevault?
 

mono tech

macrumors newbie
Sep 3, 2019
5
0
Hi,

I am using the High Sierra 10.13.6 (17G8030) and I am turning off File Vault at the moment. What is HS?

Thank you.
 

PianoPro

macrumors 6502
Sep 4, 2018
281
150
Hi,

I am using the High Sierra 10.13.6 (17G8030) and I am turning off File Vault at the moment. What is HS?

Thank you.
If you are using HS (High Sierra) then there should be no problem getting video output with both the RX-560 and the 5770, or when using either by itself. But you won't get a boot screen on the RX-560 and you will have problems with the RX-560 because it is not supported under HS. With Mojave you can only use the RX-560 by itself.

I note above someone else saying they couldn't get HS to work with the RX-560 only. I don't know about that, it has always worked for me. So I suppose you should try both together, but it's pointless because the RX-560 will have problems under HS. You need to use Mojave if you expect the card to run flawlessly.
 

flyproductions

macrumors regular
Jan 17, 2014
224
60
and you will have problems with the RX-560 because it is not supported under HS.
What kind of problems are you experiencing with you’r RX560 under HS or in which way (except of the bootscreen) is it „not supported“?

I'm using a RX570 (which should be basically the same) with absolutely no issues to it's full potential with HS.
 

mono tech

macrumors newbie
Sep 3, 2019
5
0
What kind of problems are you experiencing with you’r RX560 under HS or in which way (except of the bootscreen) is it „not supported“?

I'm using a RX570 (which should be basically the same) with absolutely no issues to it's full potential with HS.
Hi,

I am just getting a grey blank screen and nothing else. I have a password on my mac so I am not seeing the log-in screen. Just blank grey(black).
 

flyproductions

macrumors regular
Jan 17, 2014
224
60
I am just getting a grey blank screen and nothing else. I have a password on my mac so I am not seeing the log-in screen. Just blank grey(black).
Hmmm, strange! I had no problems at all with the 570 from the very beginning. No matter if Mojave or HS. Sure, no bootscreen, but then normal operation.
 
Register on MacRumors! This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.