MacPro and FCP Studio

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by mokeiko, Oct 22, 2012.

  1. mokeiko, Oct 22, 2012
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2012

    mokeiko macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    #1
    Hey guys,

    What would be the minimum OS that can be installed on the MacPro being sold at Apple's website today? I have Final Cut Studio (latest version FCS3) that I purchased a few years ago and it ran fine on Leopard. I also have Snow Leopard but FCS ran a tad slower on my old MBP that I had it installed in.

    I am not insterested in using FCPX.

    Thanks for any help.

    mokeiko
     
  2. CaptainChunk macrumors 68020

    CaptainChunk

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #2
    As in oldest version? I would guess Snow Leopard (10.6), as Leopard (10.5) will probably lack some of the hardware drivers needed for everything to work.

    I went from Leopard to Snow Leopard to Lion on my 2008 Mac Pro. I'm still running FCS 3 (FCP 7, etc.) on this machine, and I never noticed it get any "slower" with OS upgrades.
     
  3. ekwipt macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    #3
    From what i've read it ran the most stable on Snow Leopard with the latest patches for both, you can't use the whole suite in Lion and Mountain Lion because of OS level changes from what i've read
     
  4. JesterJJZ macrumors 68020

    JesterJJZ

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2004
  5. steveOooo macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    10.6.4

    Yes, but you'll need another mac or carbon copy clone of 10.6.4+

    When you do, connect either in target disc mode, or using a SL install disc go to disc utility - erase and install or think it's under 'restore from time machine backup'

    I bought a mp oct 2011 which came with lion - I'm still running 10.6.8 :D. Not really want the hassle of upgrading and risk issues developing when everything is perfect as it is

    *retail SL discs will not work as they are 10.6 - the 5,1 mp needs 10.6.4 or above.
     
  6. JesterJJZ macrumors 68020

    JesterJJZ

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2004
    #6
    So what doesn't work on Lion/ML?
     
  7. DJenkins macrumors 6502

    DJenkins

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #7
    I've been using FCS 3 on 10.8.x at home and work for the last few months without any issues. 10.6.8 might be more stable or faster or whatever but it seems to be working fine anyway.
     
  8. mokeiko thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    #8
    Yes, what oldest version would work witht he current Mac Pros on Apple's website today. It seems people are having no problems running FCS3 on Leopard (10.5), Snow Leopard (10.6), Lion (10.7), Mountain Lion (10.8) on the current Mac Pros?

    Thanks

    mokeiko
     

Share This Page