MacPro as carry on?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Enrico, Apr 16, 2007.

  1. Enrico macrumors 6502

    Enrico

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Location:
    Milano / Roma
    #1
    Hi there guys!!

    I'm planning to get a MacPro in the US (maybe at the factory store in Cupertino;) )....do you think it would be possible to take it onboard an aircraft as carry on?
    I would also get something to cover it up like http://www.ilugger.com and I'm actually flying with Delta (domestic and then international to Europe).

    Your suggestions?
    :p
     
  2. Father Jack macrumors 68020

    Father Jack

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Location:
    Ireland
    #2
    Not a chance in it's original box, which is the size of a large dog kennel :mad:

    FJ
     
  3. Enrico thread starter macrumors 6502

    Enrico

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Location:
    Milano / Roma
    #3
    That's right, and I even can't imagine how to manage the box thru the airplane:D
    But...what about the tower just covered with iLugger?:confused:
     
  4. j26 macrumors 65832

    j26

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Location:
    Paddyland
    #4
    I'd check with the airline - in these times there may be some security concerns about bringing a large metal box stuffed with electronics onto a plane.
     
  5. Father Jack macrumors 68020

    Father Jack

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Location:
    Ireland
    #5
    I still doubt if you would be allowed.

    It looks like it will need to go into the hold.

    To be honest, I think it is too much hassle, I'd buy it locally even it it is more expensive.

    What way would the warranty work?
    If it's anything like cameras, they must be returned to the country of origin.

    FJ
     
  6. Enrico thread starter macrumors 6502

    Enrico

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Location:
    Milano / Roma
    #6
    Well the Applecare is international....but anyway I'll check with Delta as j26 pointed out.
    Thx:apple:
     
  7. Father Jack macrumors 68020

    Father Jack

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Location:
    Ireland
    #7
    Cameras also have an international warranty, but I know that Canon cameras bought in the states need to be returned to the states in the event of a problem under warranty. A number of students at our local uni have been faced with this problem.

    What about voltage issues? Our voltage here is 240V and the states is 110V or does the power supply automatically recognise and accept different countries voltages?

    FJ
     
  8. Scarlet Fever macrumors 68040

    Scarlet Fever

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Location:
    Bookshop!
    #8
    you should book the seat next to you as well, so you have somewhere to put it :p

    but seriously, it is a massive machine, and i don't think they'll let you take it as carry-on.
     
  9. TheAnswer macrumors 68030

    TheAnswer

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2002
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    #9
    I think you'd have a better chance trying to carry on La Saraghina.
     
  10. Father Jack macrumors 68020

    Father Jack

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Location:
    Ireland
    #10
    Probably about the same weight :eek:
    Although not quite the same shape !!:eek: :eek:

    FJ
     
  11. Umbongo macrumors 601

    Umbongo

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #11
    Bare in mind you will still need to pay tax on it, and you might want to check on international warranty if you decide to go through with it. More than just asking on here, though some posters are clued up on the current situation.
     
  12. fredr500 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    #12
    Factory store?

    I was told the factory store just had mac minis, not Pros. Are you sure you can get a Pro there, and do you have any idea what the discount is (I'll be there in July, maybe I should wait after all)?

    Fred
     
  13. FireArse macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    #13
    Voltages

    You won't have any issues with that

    F
     
  14. dejo Moderator

    dejo

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Location:
    The Centennial State
    #14
    What is the reason for wanting to buy in the US and ship it abroad?
     
  15. Lycanthrope macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2005
    Location:
    Brussels, Belgium, Europe
    #15
    Because the dollar is very weak against sterling and the euro but the prices haven't changed so in real terms it's about 30% cheaper to buy from the US if you're in Europe.

    Clear example, my iPod 5th Gen 60GB would have cost me EUR449 in almost any Western European store, I bought it instead for $399 at the 5th Avenue store and that translated to EUR319 - the savings can be enormous.

    Really Apple (and all the restt take the piss with the pricing in Europe, it's not like the stuff is made or even shipped from the US anyway.
     
  16. dejo Moderator

    dejo

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Location:
    The Centennial State
    #16
    Well, I was asking the OP but I'll add that Europe prices include VAT whereas US prices are quoted without sales tax.
     
  17. MovieCutter macrumors 68040

    MovieCutter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #17
    There is no discount at the company store as far as I know.
     
  18. TheAnswer macrumors 68030

    TheAnswer

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2002
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    #18
    And just to help the OP out with the math...Cupertino sales tax is 8.25%.
     
  19. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #19
    It wouldn't be worth the hassle.

    1 - if you get caught at customs - your going to have to pay the import duty / vat (20%) and any other applicable taxes & charges when you get into Rome.

    2 - You lose the box - handy for sending it back if somthing goes wrong (small but practical thing)

    3 - (But scarier) Your at more of a risk to cause damage to the computer - and baggage does get thrown around on a plane. Can you imagine them unloading this and throwing onto the conveyor belt. I'm sure it will do it a world of good. :eek:

    Is €300-400 worth the risk of a DOA computer when you get home ?
     
  20. Lycanthrope macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2005
    Location:
    Brussels, Belgium, Europe
    #20
    I think I paid 6% in Manhattan but I was told in NJ it was less.

    Nevertheless, it's a lot cheaper but you have to run the import gauntlet and risk also having your MP bashed to pieced by the airport staff - have you seen the way they treat luggage?

    It's OK for small items from the US that you can put in your hand luggage - they can't even get you on import tax for that either but not large items, nor worth the risk.
     
  21. TheAnswer macrumors 68030

    TheAnswer

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2002
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    #21
    It varies by location because there is usually a state sales tax, then some counties and cities add on additional sales taxes.
     
  22. Enrico thread starter macrumors 6502

    Enrico

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Location:
    Milano / Roma
    #22
    Thanks to everybody who contributed.
    I usually buy lots of stuff in the US (including laptops), and I can tell you that italian custom is not a problem at all.

    The only drawback would be the #3.....and for the local taxes, I was thinking of buying it online (also with a friend's student discount). Saving of 1000euros would be a nice way to fill MP with RAM and HD...

    Let me call Delta tomorrow and find something out....i'll get you updated:D
     
  23. panoz7 macrumors 6502a

    panoz7

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    #23
    Are you sure about that? Applecare's international warranty used to only apply to computers that can be used without a powercord like a laptop (and for some reason the mini too). Unless they've changed their policy the macpro won't be covered outside of the US.
     
  24. Enrico thread starter macrumors 6502

    Enrico

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Location:
    Milano / Roma
    #24
    So that would exclude iMac and MP?
    Weird.....:eek:
     
  25. psingh01 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    #25
    For the sake of argument let's say you can take it as carry on. You still have to go through airport security which means taking the mac pro out of whatever case you will carry it in and run it through the x-ray machines (not to mention your shoes and whatever other stuff you have). this is a hassle with laptops...imagine with a huge tower?!

    you'd be lucky if the people behind you don't smash the computer for holding them up in line :D
     

Share This Page