MacPro Early 08 CPU upgrade

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by vicentk, Apr 18, 2010.

  1. vicentk macrumors regular

    vicentk

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #1
    My Mac Pro is 2 * 2.8, may I know can I upgrade to X5492 ( 3.4Ghz ) ?
     
  2. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #2
    It uses the same LGA 771 socket so yeah, you should be able to do that
     
  3. Umbongo macrumors 601

    Umbongo

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #3
    If I remember right there was something different on the cooling of the 3.2GHz 150W TDP systems compared to the 2.8GHz and 3.0GHz. Not sure if it will matter or not.
     
  4. Dr.Pants macrumors 65816

    Dr.Pants

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    #4
    IIRC there's something about different part numbers for the motherboard and heatsinks for the 3.2 as compared to the 3.0 and the 2.8. I would check the max specs on the 2.8 mobo for TDP - other then that, the OP might have to use a fan controller for temps. I don't think its that large of an issue personally, but I could be wrong (though I still recommend fan-controlling-software in this case).

    EDIT - I'm wrong, read on.
     
  5. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #5
    And replace the fans and thermal paste with something better than stock ones to get a lot more efficient cooling.

    Also, depending on what GPU(s) he has, but dual 150Ws are pretty power hungry too, especially when compared to 2.8GHz which are 80W
     
  6. vicentk thread starter macrumors regular

    vicentk

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #6
    The standard 2.8 is 80 watts but 3.4 is 150 watts, I afraid the heat sink can't afford.
     
  7. vicentk thread starter macrumors regular

    vicentk

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #7
    My GPU is GTX285 (EVGA Mac version )

    I just want using this MP more that 2 years, so I think CPU will heavy load in future.
     
  8. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #8
    Well, 2.8GHz 8-core is very fast already. For the price you pay for 2 x X5492, you could buy a new Mac Pro, as they are/were 1500$ each.

    2x150W is too hot I think, especially because it's designed for 2x80W, so it'd be almost two times hotter.
     
  9. vicentk thread starter macrumors regular

    vicentk

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #9
    Thank's your advice, so if I want keep the MP, so upgrade the HD will better ?
    SSD is to expensive and less space.
     
  10. Umbongo macrumors 601

    Umbongo

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #10
    SSDs are the most popular upgrade for a better computing experience at the moment, and for good reason. They don't need to be huge in size, 80GB is more than enough to store the OS and your main applications.
     
  11. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #11
    You already have 4 640GB HDs in RAID0, am I right? Is it too slow for you?
     
  12. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #12
    NO.

    Another member, Spacedust, has already tried them, and discovered that they won't work due to the different steppings used.

    What he discovered is, models with A in the 3rd position use C0 steppings and will function, such as SLANT (E5462 used in the base model). But if it has a B (E0 stepping), then it won't, and X5492 = SLBBD.
     
  13. vicentk thread starter macrumors regular

    vicentk

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #13
    Thank your information, after I check in Intel, the faster CPU on SLANx is X5482 it is 3.2GHZ
    http://ark.intel.com/Product.aspx?id=33088&processor=X5482&spec-codes=SLANZ,SLBBG
    So I think the faster CPU I can is X5482 only.
     
  14. Spacedust macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    #14
    X5492 will not work ! Mac Pro 2008 is doesn't support SLB** steppings. Don't buy it ! X5482 is max and it will work (confirmed on hexus.net).
     
  15. vicentk thread starter macrumors regular

    vicentk

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #15
    Thank you again.
     
  16. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #16
    It is, but with one stipulation: the SLANZ version ONLY, and it's listed as a Discontinued/Retired part on Intel's site (SLBBG is still in production, and what you're more likely to find, but it's the wrong stepping).

    So you'd be looking at either a leftover to get the correct version (been sitting on a shelf somewhere) or used (if you're patient, you might spot a couple on ebay at a good price, but they're in demand for what you're trying to do).
     
  17. gsxrq macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    Location:
    Bo'ness, Scotland
    #17
    i would be interested in your 2.8's if you do upgrade
    they should work in my 2006 mac pro ?
     
  18. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #18
    Nope, won't work. Only Woodcrests (5100 series) or Clovertowns (5300 series) in MP 2006.
     
  19. gsxrq macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    Location:
    Bo'ness, Scotland
  20. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #20
    X5365 is the fastest you can get for that board (3.0 GHz Quad core, 1333 MHz FSB).
     
  21. vicentk thread starter macrumors regular

    vicentk

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #21
    I know, so I think I need find them in 2 hand market.
     
  22. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #22
    :cool: I was just hoping to make sure, so you didn't end up making a mistake (increased difficulty at best, and rather expensive worst case. ;)
     
  23. vicentk thread starter macrumors regular

    vicentk

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #23
    My home is in Hong Kong, so I found the 2 hand market in China, after few days I found some ES model, do you think will them fit my case ?
     
  24. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #24
    ES = Engineering Samples. So long as they're the right models (family, steppings, and of course socket), they'll drop in just fine.

    Ideally, it's best to avoid ES, but some have done it, and apparently with no ill effects (but who knows how hard they were run during the initial testing).
     
  25. MacPhotog macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #25
    Looking to upgrade early '08 Mac Pro... E 0 steppings... will they work?

    I have an early '08 Mac Pro that came with one E5462 2.8GHz Xeon processor. I would like to upgrade the processors as much as possible.

    As far as I can tell from my own research as well as the information on this thread, the best processors I can put in the machine are the Xeon X5482 3.2GHz chips.

    I found a pair of them on eBay, but the seller says the steppings are "E 0 steppings". The seller describes the chips as "Intel Xeon Quad Core X5482 E S"... which sounds like they were Engineering Samples... I'm okay with that, but what about the "E 0" steppings? Will they work in the Mac Pro?

    Thanks so much if anybody can answer this!
     

Share This Page