MacPro Lower SuperDrive won't open

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by rgeddie, May 14, 2008.

  1. rgeddie macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    #1
    I have a 3GHz 8-core MacPro and the "option + eject" keystroke will not open the lower drive...nothing as of yet will. I have never had it open (only had the machine 1-2 weeks). My main question is has Apple changed the way one opens the lower drive and I have just missed it? Any one else with this problem?

    As I type, I consider maybe I should just check the connection to the drive...

    Thanks
     
  2. macenforcer macrumors 65816

    macenforcer

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Location:
    Colorado
    #2
    You have to press apple and eject at same time, or command and eject. I can't remember but you have to press eject and another key. Hold them down and it will open.


    EDIT: Didn't read all your post. Assumed you didn't try the combo keys. Might want to check connections if all else fails or use a paper clip to press the eject button on the drive and see if it opens that way.
     
  3. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #3
    Did you buy the optional second SuperDrive?

    The standard config is 1 drive, top tray.
     
  4. cal6n macrumors 68000

    cal6n

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Location:
    Gloucester, UK
    #4
    Set the jumpers to "cable select" on the back of both drives.
     
  5. Raymen macrumors member

    Raymen

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Location:
    Truro, Cornwall, UK
    #5
    There should be an eject like icon on the toolbar (near the wireless and time ect) that will let you open the drive, and eject any disc images or usb keys.

    If your thinking of the option key being the one that kinda looks like a hash, with circles added (the old 'apple' key as I know it)- then no its not that key.
    Its the one that looks a bit like a U lying on it's side. You have to hold that and the eject for a while to eject the tray. Then remember to redo toe action to put the tray in in (inject ?right terminology :confused:) rather than just pushing it shut (which will ruin the drive eject mechinism and motors)

    I had this issue when I got my pro, there is a help file if you search for eject in the spotlight searchbar.

    cheers
    r
     
  6. krye macrumors 68000

    krye

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Location:
    USA
    #6
    Yeh, that would be funny if this guy thinks he has 2 super drives just because there's 2 drive bays.
     
  7. uMac macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #7
    ditto - that would be hilarious.
     
  8. JeffDM macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    #8
    Assuming there really is a drive in the bottom bay, and that it's correctly set up and connected, another possible problem is that the door might be stuck. My upper bay door sticks like that on occasion.
     
  9. apfhex macrumors 68030

    apfhex

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    Northern California
    #9
    Yup, I would try this to see that it will eject at all.

    If the drive was bought and installed separately from the Mac—if you installed it yourself—you also have to remember to take the chunk of plastic off that's normally attached to the front of the tray as it won't fit through the opening in the Mac Pro's case. :eek:
     
  10. JeffDM macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    #10
    That part has bothered me on the G5s and Mac Pros, because that cover usually has a dust gasket.
     
  11. boshunter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    #11
    ok, I have the same problem when I added my second drive
    It works fine when i use the icon on the top to eject the bottom tray
    but opt+eject don't do anything
    However, I've also figure out the reason why mine didn't work
    I am currently using the logitech Wave keyboard and it works fine for ejecting tray 1 on osx and works fine with both drive in xp...

    so I grab my original mac keyboard and test out the opt+eject and it works...

    I am not sure sure why... maybe he is having the same problem
     
  12. rgeddie thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    #12
    :D at least my invoice says 2 drives :D:D it was installed by Apple

    Like I said, it's never been opened, so in fact, there is not an eject icon in the toolbar.

    i am using my mac keyboard, so ...
     
  13. bentoms macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2006
    #13
    Right then.. with the Mac off place a finger in the center - top of the drive & slide it down & poke another finger in..

    If you find a drive then you have on.. if not...

    BTW Do you have to Hard Drives? Could this be what the invoice is saying?
     
  14. mcc macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    #14
    I "inherited" a Mac Pro at work a couple of weeks ago that had two optical drives. I couldn't open the second optical drive bay with Option+Eject.

    The problem turned out to be that I had installed VMWare Fusion and it had allocated the second optical drive. Deselecting the optical drive in the VMWare Fusion settings released the optical drive allowing the Option+Eject to work.
     
  15. rgeddie thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    #15
    as it turns out, my ORDER said 2 SuperDrives not my invoice. they didn't send my MAC with the second drive.

    thanks to those who questioned this, because obviously I trusted that what i ordered was what I got.

    the joke is on me :eek:
     
  16. krye macrumors 68000

    krye

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Location:
    USA
    #16
    Bummer. But hey, no one can fault you for that! It's not your fault. So did you actually pay for it? If so, you need to get on the horn to Apple and request that they send one out. Or a refund of the difference if anything. OWC (macsales.com) has 20X burners for the Mac Pro for $32. http://eshop.macsales.com/item/Pioneer/DVR115DBK/ What did Apple charge you? $100 right?
     
  17. outlawx9 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    #17
    i added a second superdrive and my mac will not read it.

    I just received a new super drive, a Pioneer superdrive, I installed it but my comp. we will not read it. Does any know why? I have mac pro 2007.
     

Share This Page