MacPro OCin' : zdNet clock

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by UltraNEO*, Aug 11, 2008.

  1. UltraNEO* macrumors 601

    UltraNEO*

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    近畿日本
    #1
    How do we check or test this thing, to really see does the application really works? I been playing with a it for a little while and doesn't feel like anything is happening... the only thing that seems to change is the note in the consoles... are there any actual test to justify the application?

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Get your own from here...
    http://www.zdnet.de/enterprise/mac/hardware/0,39038647,39192217,00.htm
     
  2. G4DP macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    #2
    It does work, if you run Folding@home or Seti@home you'll see. I haven't found any other programmes that prove it is actually working.

    When running one of the above mentioned, run a unit at normal speed then rank up the app and see the difference.
     
  3. UltraNEO* thread starter macrumors 601

    UltraNEO*

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    近畿日本
    #3
  4. irishgrizzly macrumors 65816

    irishgrizzly

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    #4
  5. jjahshik32 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    #5
    Will overclocking my 2.8ghz mac pro to a 3.2ghz over time somehow fudge up my mac pro's cpu??
     
  6. UltraNEO* thread starter macrumors 601

    UltraNEO*

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    近畿日本
    #6
    Nothing major.. it's just warranty!

    Blahhh... but the CPU's are in sockets. Hopefully by then the price would of fallen, faster replacements will be in reach!! Hmmm... actual 3.20's Wonder what they clock too??
     
  7. almostinsane macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    #7
    errr, no. It's software, how would it void your warranty?
     
  8. UltraNEO* thread starter macrumors 601

    UltraNEO*

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    近畿日本
    #8
    Last attempt...

    Well... my last stable attempt. Got the 2.80Ghz machine to run at 3.20Ghz

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Tried to take the bus to 467Mhz but experienced a kernel panic!! Followed by a crashed leading to a complete shut down.
    But I found the system's limit... However, I do wonder should i leave it the Bus running aat 460 Mhz for 24 hours and see how it goes??
     
  9. parkie macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    #9
    does it still make the system clock run faster? it did the last time I tried it.

    p
     
  10. m1stake macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Philly
    #10
    It runs the processor above it's rated clock speed.
     
  11. marshallbedsaul macrumors 6502a

    marshallbedsaul

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    Maryland
    #11
    sorry to unearth this can this program work on my late 2008 macbook pro
     
  12. Mackilroy macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
  13. Transporteur macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #13
    2006 and 2008.
     

Share This Page