MacPro Octo and Windows, Just a quick question

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by wahit, Nov 12, 2008.

  1. wahit macrumors member

    wahit

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2005
    Location:
    Portugal
    #1
    Hi guys!

    FInally my MacPro+Cinema Display arrived today, yet I have a small question regarding Windows.

    What is the best Windows operating system to fully take advantage of the MacPro processing power? I really need to be using Windows at least until January/February. The only software I use there is Rhinoceros and Maxwell Render.

    So I really need that the OS takes fully advantage of the 8 cores of the MacPro, to enhance my rendering speed!

    Which do you think is best for me, only to use Maxwell Render and Rhinoceros: Windows Vista or Windows XP?! And what version should I search for?


    Thank you very much for your help!
     
  2. inigel macrumors regular

    inigel

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    Location:
    Australia
    #2
    I use Vista Ultimate 64, it will let you use all 8 Cores and more RAM then 32 bit Windows.

    32 bit Windows only lets you use up to 2GB of the Mac Pro's RAM and only one core for processing.
     
  3. wahit thread starter macrumors member

    wahit

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2005
    Location:
    Portugal
    #3
    What is the difference between Windows Ultimate, Windows Home Edition and Windows Business?!

    I just need to user Rhino and Maxwell. Is Windows Home Edition (64 bit) enough to take full advantage of my 8 cores?
     
  4. Infrared macrumors 68000

    Infrared

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    #4
    http://blogs.technet.com/mkleef/archive/2008/05/23/8-core-apple-mac-runs-hyper-v.aspx

    I'm not saying you should use that, but it's worth considering if
    your programs will run on it.

    Both Vista and Server 2k8 have a trial mode. 2k8 trial download:

    http://www.microsoft.com/windowsserver2008/en/us/trial-software.aspx

    Perhaps useful if you are not sure which to buy.
     
  5. wahit thread starter macrumors member

    wahit

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2005
    Location:
    Portugal
    #5
    Windows Server 2008... gotta take a look at that. Maybe I'll buy it next January. Are you sure it will perfectly work with the software I need?

    Right now I'm downloading WinXP 64. I don't want to buy Vista on a rush and later regret it. I really gotta try out Win Server 2008.
     
  6. Infrared macrumors 68000

    Infrared

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    #6
    No. The essential differences:

    Home Edition: 1 physical CPU (i.e. 4 Mac Pro cores).
    Home Premium: 1 physical CPU/Window Media Center
    Business: 2 physical CPUs (i.e., 8 Mac Pro cores)
    Ultimate: 2 physical CPUs/Windows Media Center

    It's a bit more complicated than that, and there are other
    differences, but those to my mind are the essential ones.

    Further reading:

    http://www.microsoft.com/windows/windows-vista/compare-editions/default.aspx
     
  7. Infrared macrumors 68000

    Infrared

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    #7
    Hard to say. The guys here may know:

    http://www.win2008workstation.com/forum/

    The best way to be sure is to try it and see.
    I've been able to run everything I wanted to,
    but then I'm not familiar with the two programs
    you mentioned.

    Good luck!
     
  8. Genghis Khan macrumors 65816

    Genghis Khan

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #8
    For rendering, you want 64-bit anyway - and also, Rhino 5 will be 64-bit...might as well go 64-bit now.

    Also, a question for the OP.
    I use Rhino a lot in my studies. I'm just about to get an external renderer. Would you say Maxwell is better than V-Ray?
    Also, any tips on how to make renders faster? (At least trial ones)

    Thanks,
    - Michael
     
  9. wahit thread starter macrumors member

    wahit

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2005
    Location:
    Portugal
    #9

    I can answer the question about the renderers...

    Maxwell is a lot better comparing to V-Ray, the problem with Maxwell is that it takes much more time to render. That is the reason why a bought the MacPro, yet the results are way superior!

    If you have time to render things, go for Maxwell. If not... go for V-Ray. One more thing, the Maxwell Render license works both on OSX and Windows; V-Ray only works on Windows.

    If you are a student you should take the chance now and buy licences from Maxwell (or any other renderer you like) and Rhino. You will save a lot of money now.

    I bought Rhino during college and the license I use now in my office is that one. It "transforms" directly to a Pro license. It's cool...
     
  10. sangosimo Guest

    sangosimo

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    #10
    it is not worth trying. Once you enable all the workstation features to make it usable you have vista.
     
  11. Infrared macrumors 68000

    Infrared

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    #11
    That is only partially true. For example, you don't have to enable
    all the vista-like features to make it usable. I haven't enabled the
    "Desktop Experience" and it is still very usable for me. A lack of
    Aero never stopped me shooting anyone in Counter-Strike :)

    But also, some benchmarks have shown that even with the
    Vista features enabled, Server 2008 outperforms Vista.

    The picture is not entirely clear:

    http://exo-blog.blogspot.com/2008/03/windows-2008-vista-done-right.html

    In any case, there is little harm in trying an OS. And I would be the
    last to try and force anyone to use a particular OS. Each to his own.
     
  12. wahit thread starter macrumors member

    wahit

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2005
    Location:
    Portugal
    #12
    Now I'm pissed!

    I've downloaded Windows XP 64Bit edition and... it doesn't work on Bootcamp! I mean, Apple only support Windows XP 32Bit and Windows Vista!

    What the hell.... I have a Windows XP 32bit licence, but I don't really have Vista.

    If I install Windows 32bit version on my MacPro (2x2.8Ghz QuadCore) will I benefit from the 8 cores, or do I really have to install Windows Vista Business?!

    Thank you very much!
     
  13. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #13
    Boot Camp doesn't have the drivers needed to make XP 64 work, IIRC. :(

    If you have the ability to install windows to a separate HDD, you don't even need Boot Camp at all. It just gets used to partition the OS X disk, and load the drivers needed for windows. I think XP could be installed this way, as other members have XP running.
     
  14. Infrared macrumors 68000

    Infrared

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    #14
    XP Pro will support 8, XP Home Edition 4.

    With a 32-bit edition, you can only use 2GB of RAM
    due to Apple's CSM (see link below) implementation.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Extensible_Firmware_Interface

    XP 64 on a Mac Pro:

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=231901

    Note: that is the 2006 Mac Pro.
     
  15. Sesshi macrumors G3

    Sesshi

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Location:
    One Nation Under Gordon
    #15
    Vista 64-bit is the best OS for the job now and for the near future, but the Pro is not a great choice for running 64-bit Vista - ideally it should have been a proper Windows workstation such as the Precision T7400 that I use for Rhino among others.

    It will however work, if you don't mind the distinctly 'consumer' reliability of both the hardware and the function of Vista.
     

Share This Page