MacPro Photographers - any issues with Lion ?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by barmann, Feb 22, 2012.

  1. barmann macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Location:
    Germany
    #1
    I'm a bit out of the loop, so please bear with me if that has been beaten to death before .

    For work, I'm using Photoshop CS5 64bit, CS4 for a few things as well (scanning and such), some digital capture programs from Canon and Leaf, an Epson R2400 printer, iOne color profiling hardware and software, and the usual bits and pieces for bookkeeping, email etc .

    My main computer is a 2008 MP, soon to be upgraded, with a dual monitor setup , running Snow Leopard .

    Is there anything I should be worried about when switching from Snow Leopard to Lion, could it compromise my workflow ?

    I've heared all those stories about lacking dual monitor support, autosave and whatnot in Lion, so I'm a litte concerned here .
     
  2. ashman70 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    #2
    I use Adobe Lightroom and CS5 on my MP 2008 with three 23" LED displays and Lion is fine, no issues for me.
     
  3. h00ligan macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Location:
    A hot desert
  4. minifridge1138 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    #4
    I wouldn't say that Lion doesn't support Dual Displays.
    It supports them differently than Snow Leopard and some things (Spaces -> Mission Control) are not as Dual Display friendly, but still supported.

    I have auto-save disabled, so that hasn't gotten in my way.
    I have Time Machine, so I have hourly versions/backups already.

    If you are worried you could always install Lion on a separate hard drive / partition and test drive it. If you don't like it, you go back to SL and you're out $30. A lot cheaper than upgrading and NOT being able to go back.
     
  5. WRP macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Location:
    Boston
    #5
    There was an issue for a while with Canon's EOS utility but they just released a working version not too long ago. All is well now.
     
  6. thekev macrumors 604

    thekev

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    #6
    My concern would be the older printer generation. I think they still support it, but I don't know how it works under Lion. I owned one a long time ago. Are you using it with a stock driver or RIP? I haven't dealt with anything related to Leaf in a while. I thought they were going to die out until Mamiya took them over. I'm not even sure how so many medium format digital companies actually survive.

    On the i1 devices you should check their Lion compatibility. I know a few of the Xrite pieces don't work under Lion.
     
  7. Noctilux.95 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Location:
    LA
    #7
    I have a Mac Pro 2.66 (4,1) with 16GB ram, 240GB SSD, and a Radeon 5770 video card.
    My machine runs my Hasselblad H4D 40 and Canon 5D MK II files without a sweat.
    No problems running PS CS5, Aperture 3, and Photo Mechanic.
     
  8. Apple Corps macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #8
    Perhaps the more important question is what you are expecting from the upgrade. Please note that Mountain Lion is due out within about 5 months - an option is to sit tight and see what it brings to the table.
     
  9. barmann thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Location:
    Germany
    #9
    Thanks for the replies !

    Good point about the drivers, I'll have to check the Epson website for Lion compatibility .

    My Xrite package will need a pricey update for Lion, that I already know .

    There is no need for me to switch from SL right now (and I would certainly try Lion on a seperate HDD first), but I believe when I buy a new MP, there is no choice but to run Lion .

    At least the next generation should require it, I assume .
     
  10. khollister macrumors 6502a

    khollister

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2003
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    #11
    Using CS5, Nikon NX2, PhotoMechanic, several 3rd party plugins, Epson printers, CEDP and Xrite i1 profiling HW and SW on Lion with absolutely no problems. The transition from SL to Lion was far less messy than the transition from Leopard to SL for me.
     
  11. -hh macrumors 68020

    -hh

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2001
    Location:
    NJ Highlands, Earth
    #12
    Frankly, I'd make it a point to buy before Mountain Lion ships.

    Otherwise, we're more likely to be asking basically the same question again ("when will there be updates to my software tools to be compatible with this OS"?) which means that we are likely to be dead in the water with a nonfunctional workflow if 10.8 breaks something (ie, once again probably something from Adobe).

    In this regards, I'm pretty much expecting to buy a 2012 Mac Pro whenever it finally becomes available ... and I'm very specifically hoping that that milestone occurs before Mountain Lion ships.


    -hh
     
  12. Zerozal macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Location:
    PA
    #13
  13. AlteMac macrumors regular

    AlteMac

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    Location:
    New York suburb
    #14
    OP: You said you were scanning. Make sure your scanner software is compatible. Some are not, such as Nikon Scan, which definitely will not run under Lion as it needs Rosetta. The workaround for me was to keep SL on a separate disk and boot into SL when Nikon Scan is needed. Since ML is sure to be lacking Rosetta also, Nikon Scan won't run on it either. I also had a cheap flatbed scanner that stopped working after SL was installed and the manufacturer stopped supporting it, so that became trash. The lesson is check the scanner drivers' compatibility and be prepared to switch to new software (where feasible) or new scanner.

    The new Silverlight software will work but is wildly expensive.
     
  14. barmann thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Location:
    Germany
    #15
    Thanks again ; I also assume drivers will be the biggest issue for some of my hardware .

    Epson isn't clear about Lion compatibility, so I'll just have to try I guess .
    In the worst case, I can still run a laptop with SL for a while for scanning ...
     

Share This Page