MacPro RAID card - run at 4x?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by PowerMike G5, Mar 10, 2008.

  1. PowerMike G5 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    Location:
    New York, NY
    #1
    So I have the mac pro RAID card and I use it to run a 4 drive RAID 5 (my boot drive is in a Pro Caddy in my 2nd Optical Drive Bay).

    It currently is using an 8x PCIE slot, but does anyone know if I can run the card at 4x speed and still not incur a penalty in speed or anything like that?

    3 of my 4 slots are taken and all I have left is 1x in the open slot. And I need at least 4x for a video capture card I plan to buy.
     
  2. PowerMike G5 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    Location:
    New York, NY
    #2
    Upon further research, it seems that the 2008 Mac Pro's #4 slot is a 4x slot, which the RAID card connects too.

    So would it be safe to assume that if I configure the #4 slot in my Mac Pro to 4x, then it should run at the same speed?
     
  3. kakace macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    #3
    I have the feeling that a 4x PCIE 2.0 slot has the same bandwidth as a 8x PCIE 1.x slot, but I might be wrong.
     
  4. PowerMike G5 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    Location:
    New York, NY
    #4
    well the 4x slot in the new Mac Pro is PCIE 1.0 - the same type of slot as in the older Mac Pro.
     

Share This Page