MacPro Sleep Problem

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by xn3xterx, May 28, 2018.

  1. xn3xterx, May 28, 2018
    Last edited: May 28, 2018

    xn3xterx macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2018
    #1
    I have a flashed 4.1 to 5.1 MacPro. I have a problem with Standby on the Mac. When i start the Standby over the Menu Apple - standby - it works. Then i set the time for Monitor standy to 1 minute and Mac Standby to 2 minutes. The Monitors goes to standby but the Mac never. What is the difference between the Apple Menu Standby and the Automatic Stand by ??

    When i optimize the Mac with Onyx and make a restart, then the Mac goes one or two times in Standby .

    Hibernate Mode is 0

    I have test ist also with Hibernatmode 3 . Nothing changes

    With the Command
    pmset -g log | grep sleep | tail -n 1

    i get these.
    Idle sleep preventers: IODisplayWrangler

    sudo pmset -g assertions

    Assertion status system-wide:

    BackgroundTask 0

    ApplePushServiceTask 0

    UserIsActive 1

    PreventUserIdleDisplaySleep 0

    PreventSystemSleep 0

    ExternalMedia 1

    PreventUserIdleSystemSleep 1

    NetworkClientActive 0

    Listed by owning process:

    pid 405(sharingd): [0x000231e2000186f5] 00:07:52 PreventUserIdleSystemSleep named: "Handoff"

    pid 72(powerd): [0x0000000500088000] 84:37:58 ExternalMedia named: "com.apple.powermanagement.externalmediamounted"

    pid 123(hidd): [0x000231de000986f2] 00:00:00 UserIsActive named: "com.apple.iohideventsystem.queue.tickle.4294968957.3"

    Timeout will fire in 60 secs Action=TimeoutActionRelease

    Kernel Assertions: 0xc=USB,BT-HID

    id=514 level=255 0x8=BT-HID mod=01.01.70, 01:00 description=com.apple.driver.IOBluetoothHIDDriver owner=BNBMouseDevice

    id=515 level=255 0x8=BT-HID mod=01.01.70, 01:00 description=com.apple.driver.IOBluetoothHIDDriver owner=AppleHSBluetoothDevice

    id=694 level=255 0x4=USB mod=01.01.70, 01:00 description=com.apple.usb.externaldevice.00400000 owner=USB2.0 Hub

    id=696 level=255 0x4=USB mod=01.01.70, 01:00 description=com.apple.usb.externaldevice.00800000 owner=USB3.0 Hub

    id=698 level=255 0x4=USB mod=01.01.70, 01:00 description=com.apple.usb.externaldevice.00410000 owner=USB2.0 Hub

    id=700 level=255 0x4=USB mod=01.01.70, 01:00 description=com.apple.usb.externaldevice.00440000 owner=USB2.0 Hub

    id=703 level=255 0x4=USB mod=01.01.70, 01:00 description=com.apple.usb.externaldevice.00441000

    id=704 level=255 0x4=USB mod=01.01.70, 01:00 description=com.apple.usb.externaldevice.00810000 owner=USB3.0 Hub

    id=706 level=255 0x4=USB mod=01.01.70, 01:00 description=com.apple.usb.externaldevice.00840000 owner=USB3.0 Hub

    Idle sleep preventers: IODisplayWrangler
     
  2. lclev macrumors regular

    lclev

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2013
    Location:
    Ohio
    #2
    What version of OS are you running? I had issues with Sierra that went away with High Sierra.

    I believe the overall issue was with the internal USB 3.0 card I was using. As I said upgrading fixed the issue.

    Lisa
     
  3. xn3xterx thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2018
    #3
    Hi Lisa - i use High Sierra. Yes i have a internal USB3 Card in. Do you use now a other USB3 Card ??
     
  4. lclev macrumors regular

    lclev

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2013
    Location:
    Ohio
    #4
    I have been using the same USB 3 card for some time now. It is a Inateck 4 Ports PCI-E to USB 3.0 Express Card.

    I found if I had a drive attached to it then the sleep function got interrupted. I would come back and have a long string of warnings that the drive had been improperly disconnected because I left it connected and on. Unmounting and turning off the external drive fixed the issue for me. I read somewhere that the USB 3 internal cards could create an issue (not sure where I read it) so I just remember to turn the off if I want the Mac Pro to sleep.

    I have another drive attached to one of the Mac Pro's regular USB ports that I use for my Carbon Copy backup. It has never caused an issues.


    Lisa
     
  5. xn3xterx thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2018
    #5
    That would be a solution, but i don´t understand why the Mac goes to sleep when ich click on Apple Menu und than Standby . With the Energy Settings it goes not to sleep. It is the same or ??
     
  6. h9826790 macrumors G4

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #6
  7. lclev macrumors regular

    lclev

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2013
    Location:
    Ohio
    #7
    I never click on sleep under the apple menu. No particular reason - I just don't. I have sleep setup in the power setting. I just let the energy settings take care of shutting off the displays and putting it to sleep. I had issues with the sleep when I was running Sierra. Resetting the SMC and the NVRAM would fix it for a while. With High Sierra I have had no issues as long as I turn off the drive connected to the USB 3.0 card.

    Have you tried resetting the SMC and NVRAM? Couldn't hurt.

    Lisa
     
  8. xn3xterx thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2018
    #8
    I will try it tomorrow. Its now 2:40 . Time to go to Bed :)
     
  9. crjackson2134 macrumors 68040

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #9
    OP I have the same issue in HS, with no usb devices attached.

    This with a clean install. However, I can run my backup app (CCC), and under advanced settings, set for sleep upon completion and it works flawlessly. Also using Sleep from the Apple command bar at the top of the screen also works flawlessly.

    Only the PM settings app fails. Everything else works.
     
  10. lclev macrumors regular

    lclev

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2013
    Location:
    Ohio
    #10
    Have you tried a SMC and NVRAM reset? Can't hurt and when I had issues in Sierra that helped for a while. I have found the sleep function to have intermittent issues that come and go according to what the most recent update is. It is like apple fixes it then breaks it again.

    Lisa
     
  11. crjackson2134, May 28, 2018
    Last edited: May 28, 2018

    crjackson2134 macrumors 68040

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #11
    Many times... The issue dates back a long time, several OS major versions. Many SMC/NVRAM resets.

    I’ve given up on the PM app. Brute forces Sleep always works, I sometimes use the power button to invoke sleep. ONLY the pm app fails...

    It must be a delicate little flower.
     
  12. lclev macrumors regular

    lclev

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2013
    Location:
    Ohio
    #12
    Just for curiosities sake I left my MP on when I left work. I did turn off the external drive that is attached to the USB 3.0 card as I know this will disrupt the sleep feature. I came in this morning and my MP was snoozing away with no issues. I even checked from home using Team Viewer to see if I could access it and it was listed as offline.

    I still think something is keeping yours from either sleeping or is waking it up. I do have wake for network access unchecked. You might take a look at the log files to see if anything shows.

    Lisa
     
  13. crjackson2134 macrumors 68040

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #13
    Same here, it's unchecked as always.... I've just made it my new habit to do a backup with CCC now when I go away for awhile. I have it set to sleep the computer when done. It never fails. Only the APM settings applet fails...
     

Share This Page