MacPro+Vista64+8800GTS = Frame rates suck

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by digiegg, Dec 25, 2008.

  1. digiegg macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 23, 2007
    #1
    Hey guys,
    I just got a new harddrive, 10000RPM WD 300GB Raptor.
    I decided to install Vista 64bit in it.

    My comp spec.
    mac pro 3.2ghz 8 Core.
    8800GTS (Latest nvidia driver installed) 180.48
    WD 300GB VelociRaptor HD.
    Vista Ultimate 64bit. SP1

    I mean... when I had XP 64bit installed before it caused nothing like this... It ran so smoothly at the highest setting. Now after I upgrade to Vista ultimate 64bit, I just get horrible framerates.
    Aero is turned off and I optimized my Vista.

    What's going on? Can someone point me to the right direction here?

    *Based on World of warcraft performance
     
  2. MKnight macrumors regular

    MKnight

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    #2
    You should leave Aero turned ON as this can decrease system stability and performance. If you have it off it does not use the more stable/reliable way of rendering windows which is straight from the GPU similar to how Quartz does it with OGL on OSX.

    When you say you get horrible framerates, what is horrible to you? What did you get before? Can you provide me with some numbers??
     
  3. digiegg thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 23, 2007
    #3
    right now im getting like 20-30...
    I don't know about what I had before but it was smoother...
     
  4. cg165 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    #4
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 2_2 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/525.18.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.1.1 Mobile/5G77 Safari/525.20)

    Well with vista you're getting directx 10 which looks better but gives a bigger performance hit. Actually, what game are you talking about? I'm guessing crysis because that should be the only game you get that low of a frame rate with your system. Scan for
    Spyware, get the windows update. Try smc fan control in OSX (set them high then restart into windows). Turn aa and af off and see if that helps. I gave general answers because I don't know any more
    Specifics.
     
  5. digiegg thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 23, 2007
  6. The Flashing Fi macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    #6
  7. MKnight macrumors regular

    MKnight

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    #7
    Can you check to see if you have "force vsync" on? That will lock the framerate to the refresh rate of your display.
     
  8. digitard macrumors 6502a

    digitard

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Location:
    Gilbert, AZ
    #8
    Out of curiosity... why are you running WoW in Bootcamp?

    Just install the MAC version of WoW. Let it run native. Addons/etc from curse.com and so forth are all universal so it wont matter what OS you're in.

    I installed it,WOTLK included, on my MBP once I got it the other day and it runs phenominal under OS X. Smooth as can be running around Dalaran (sp?) during populated times with almost everything on high (few things on medium) and max resolution.

    D.
     

Share This Page