MacPro Warranty - What does it include?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by darthraige, May 7, 2008.

  1. darthraige macrumors 68000

    darthraige

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Location:
    Coruscant, but Boston will do.
    #1
    Sorry for this new thread, tried searching and just anxiously want to know right now...

    Purchased the new MacPro in January this year. Obviously I can't get a new machine since I've gone way over the 14 days. But what about the Hard Drive that ships with it? I'm getting some bad responses from Disk Utility and it's not repairing, and I don't want to hold onto the drive if it's still under warranty. I will be trying Disk Warrior to resolve the issue a bit later. I also don't have Apple Care, but isn't the Hard Drive usually good for a year or something?

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks,
    Raige
     
  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #2
    All Apple hardware comes with a standard 1-year limited warranty. You're still under that until January 2009. ;)
     
  3. Luis Ortega macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Location:
    Fetcham Surrey UK
    #3
    Don't we get applecare for the first year anyway?
    Why do you say you don't have it if you bought one only 4 months ago?
     
  4. darthraige thread starter macrumors 68000

    darthraige

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Location:
    Coruscant, but Boston will do.
    #4
    Ooooo, rock 'n roll. I'll be calling them tonight. As much as I hate Apple Phone Support, would they ship a new drive out?
     
  5. darthraige thread starter macrumors 68000

    darthraige

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Location:
    Coruscant, but Boston will do.
    #5
    You get it for 90 Days. After that, you have to pay.

    Edit - Well, for phone support...

    [​IMG]
     
  6. darthraige thread starter macrumors 68000

    darthraige

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Location:
    Coruscant, but Boston will do.
    #6
    Wait a sec. Now that I think of it, how does that work? If my 90 days is up for phone supprot, how can I call to replace a drive that has a warranty for 1 year?
     
  7. gauchogolfer macrumors 603

    gauchogolfer

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Location:
    American Riviera
    #7
    If it's for a warranty repair you won't be charged. If they determine that it's not, then you'll get charged for the call if you're calling after 90 days.
     
  8. nick9191 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Location:
    Britain
    #8
    No no no

    You can ring em up for the computer to be serviced etc.

    Phone support means help with the OS and asking them how to do things etc. ;)
     
  9. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #9
    Or simply take the machine to an Apple store or an Independent Apple Authorized Service Provider.
     
  10. darthraige thread starter macrumors 68000

    darthraige

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Location:
    Coruscant, but Boston will do.
    #10
    Already done that twice. It's a pain. Gonna try Disk Warrior soon to see if that fixes things. If not, Apple gets the call and I get a new HD.

    Update: Tried Disk Warrior. It found 34 files and 10 folders that were bad. Tried rebuilding them, didn't seem to work. Trying again. :-(
     
  11. darthraige thread starter macrumors 68000

    darthraige

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Location:
    Coruscant, but Boston will do.
    #11
    Failed.

    Wonderful. Disk Warrior didn't work, and now I can't even Archive and Install. Christ.
     
  12. darthraige thread starter macrumors 68000

    darthraige

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Location:
    Coruscant, but Boston will do.
    #12
    Anyone know if you can Archive and Install with third party RAM in the machine? Or do I have to take it out?
     
  13. djjclark macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    #13
    You most certainly can but with the problems you are having I would consider removing them and copying your data to a new HD before mucking with the computer any more.
     
  14. darthraige thread starter macrumors 68000

    darthraige

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Location:
    Coruscant, but Boston will do.
    #14
    Working.... again.

    Yea, I removed them and tried Archiving and Installing. That failed. So I pretty much backed everything up again and formatted the drive and Installed Leopard back on. Everything is working fantastic again.
     

Share This Page