MacPro1.1 2.66 SATAII size question

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by sadie-lady, Feb 6, 2010.

  1. sadie-lady macrumors newbie

    sadie-lady

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    #1
    The two front bays each have a 250GB HD leaving 1.5TB to split up between the two remaining bays. What is the maximum per bay that this MacPro1.1 can accept? Will a 1TB work in in one bay? I'd like to be able to stick in a larger SATAII than a 500GB.
    Thanks.
     
  2. Dark Dragoon macrumors 6502a

    Dark Dragoon

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    You can use whatever capacity hard drive you want in any of the bays.

    My Mac Pro 1.1 currently has a 640GB hard drive and 3 x 1TB hard drives in the four sleds.
     
  3. OrangeSVTguy macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #3
    The maximum is whatever sized HDD is currently being manufactured so you can install 4x 2TB drives in there with no problem. People even cram more HDDs in the MP, particularly under the optical drive in the second slot.
     
  4. sadie-lady thread starter macrumors newbie

    sadie-lady

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    #4
    Thanks for the good news guys!:) I didn't know if the MacPro1.1 had a limit total of 2TB 500GB per bay.
     
  5. sadie-lady thread starter macrumors newbie

    sadie-lady

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    #5
    What brand 1TB HD are you using? Seagate? WesternDigital?
     
  6. Dark Dragoon macrumors 6502a

    Dark Dragoon

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    I'm using 3 Western Digital WD10EACS (1TB Green Power), they are around a year and a half old. I needed high capacity, quiet drives and I didn't care about the speed of them which is fine for general use anyway.
     
  7. sadie-lady thread starter macrumors newbie

    sadie-lady

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    #7

Share This Page