MacPro1,1, GeForce 210

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by 128keaton, Jan 2, 2014.

  1. 128keaton macrumors 68020

    128keaton

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    #1
    Hello all, I recently acquired a MacPro1,1 (ancient, right?). Overall, its a fast little machine. Its running Lion as of today. It has 6GB of RAM and a dual 2.66 GHz Intel Xeon. I would really like to hack Mavericks on here, but I've been told I need to upgrade the graphics card on it, just to make Mavericks that much better. Anyway, the graphics card I have laying around is a GeForce 210, only 1GB of DDR3 vRam. Not terrible compared to the current one. This card actually packs a fair punch with basic gaming and video editing on my gaming PC (I am getting a GTX card, this was just a fill in :p). I've also been told that I might have to ref lash the card to get it to work properly, I'm fully prepared to do that (with the risk of screwing it up) as its a $30 card. Anyway, if this won't work, would any of you fine Mac fans suggest a good one?

    EDIT: I typed in the wrong thing and nothing came up. Fixed my typo and now many forum posts pop up about this card + a mac pro. Sorry! Delete!!!
     
  2. 128keaton thread starter macrumors 68020

    128keaton

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    #2
    Okay, many of the threads on this are dead. Many people on the threads have talked about an EFI injection, using graphics enabler, and using multiple Kexts. I want to install Mavericks on this machine, and with this card, I know its possible. Anyway, for Mavericks to accept the card, I'm assuming I need to do an EFI injection, so its applied on every boot?
     
  3. donw35 macrumors regular

    donw35

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #3
  4. 128keaton thread starter macrumors 68020

    128keaton

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    #4
    You sir, are a life saver. I have the ASUS 210 Silent, but I guess it doesn't matter, as its all the same chipset. I'll try this as soon as I get my other graphics card.
     
  5. mac pro noob 1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2015
    #5
    asus nvidia geforce 120 1gb

    I have purchased the Asus Nvidia GeForce 210 1gb from marlins to replace my old 7300 in mac pro 1,1 no drivers required card works straight away weirdly enough it only seems to work with just the 120 in the pc slot when the 7300 is present as we'll it seems to only run of it AND ONLY BOOT TO THE LOG IN SCREEEN THEN GETS STUCK FOR HOURS TRYING TO LOG IN. I HAVE A MAC PRO 1,1 RUNNING OS X 10.10.2 PIKER BOOT
     
  6. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #6
    Turn on auto log in and fix that caps lock key
     

Share This Page