MacPro5.1 - Macs Fan Control 1.4.8.1 totally out of control?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by m4v3r1ck, Jul 9, 2017.

  1. m4v3r1ck, Jul 9, 2017
    Last edited: Jul 9, 2017

    m4v3r1ck macrumors 68020

    m4v3r1ck

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #1
    Why is the temp reading and controlling for the PCI fan - Mac Pro 5.1 (2012) / Mac OS X 10.10.5 - so much out of control?

    [​IMG]

    PCI = yellow line going up and down like a madman! The more straight lines - afterwards - are those for the Mac's own fan control without Macs Fan Control running, wow what a difference for the PCI fan.
    [​IMG]
    Could this have anything to do with the fact that my Mac Pro 5.1 was serviced and got all new fans - Apple Care - or is the MFC software at fault here? Help very much appreciated!

    Cheers
     
  2. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #2
    ^^^I have no issue with Macs Fan Control on my cMP running Sierra.

    Lou
     
  3. m4v3r1ck thread starter macrumors 68020

    m4v3r1ck

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #3
    Thanks for your feedback Lou!

    Cheers
     
  4. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #4
    Because you made a super sensitive fan profile (370RPM per 1 degree C change). If make your PCIe fan base on the PCIe ambient, but something like lower end 33, upper end 58. Your PCIe fan will be much smoother.

    Also, if you have an open fan type graphic card, the PCIe ambient will vary more than the blower type, which also make the PCIe fan more sensitive (with this MacsFanControl setting).
     
  5. m4v3r1ck, Jul 9, 2017
    Last edited: Jul 9, 2017

    m4v3r1ck thread starter macrumors 68020

    m4v3r1ck

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #5
    Thank you so much for your elaboration and tip! Will tweak the setting and get back to you.

    Cheers
    --- Post Merged, Jul 9, 2017 ---
    Yes! this did the trick.

    [​IMG]

    I indeed have the EVGA GTX-680-4GB-FTW.

    Again thanks for your help!

    Cheers
     

Share This Page