MacPro5,1 won't wake from sleep with Sonnet Tempo SSD Pro

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by msbc, Jul 11, 2014.

  1. msbc macrumors newbie

    msbc

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #1
    Just installed the Sonnet Tempo SSD Pro in my MP5,1. I have my OSX 10.9.4 SSD and another SSD (both OWC 6G SSD's) on the card - not RAID. System boots fine and is very fast. However, I cannot wake the system from sleep.

    While system is sleeping I tap the front power button to wake it up. Display (NEC PA271W) comes to life and then goes back to power save mode. The light above the MP power button shows that the system is not sleeping. I've also tried connecting via SSH from my MBP but it cannot connect - so looks like no network interface is active.

    If I force re-start and check the Console I do not see any messages at all between the time the system went into sleep mode and when it boots from the forced re-start.

    Sleep/wake was working without issue when the system 10.9.3 SSD was on an internal drive slot. I have upgraded to 10.9.4 after I moved the bot SSD to the Tempo card. I had the same sleep/wake issues with 10.9.3 as well.

    Can anybody else using this card confirm if they can sleep/wake with the boot SSD on the card.

    Thanks,
    Mark
     
  2. stockholm80 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2013
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #2
    Works for me without issues on 10.9.4. 10.9.3 worked as well. Mac Pro 5.1 with a Crucial M4 as boot drive.
     
  3. msbc thread starter macrumors newbie

    msbc

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #3
    Can you tell me which slot you have it in and what other PCI cards you have.

    Thanks,
    Mark
     
  4. hfg macrumors 68040

    hfg

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, IA. USA
    #4
    Mine sleeps/wakes fine:
    MacPro 5,1
    Sonnet Tempo Pro 2x 512GB Crucial M4 in RAID-0 Boot OS X
    Installed in slot-3

    4 - Inateck 4 port USB 3.0
    3 - Sonnet Tempo Pro OS X boot RAID-0
    2 - Velocity Solo x2 Samsung 840 Pro 512GB Windows 8 Boot
    --
    1 - NVIDIA GeForce GTX 680 4096MB
     
  5. stockholm80 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2013
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #5
    This is mine:

    4 - Sonnet Tempo Pro w. Crucial M4
    3 - RME RayDAT audio interface
    2 - OWC Accelsior SSD
    1 - NVIDIA GTX 770 2Gb
     
  6. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #6
    Look like an issue with Tempo + OWC SSD combo. To rule out the card itself, you'd need to connect any other brand SSD/HDD with OS on it to the Sonnet and see if it will act the same.
     
  7. benjobe2513 macrumors member

    benjobe2513

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Location:
    Humboldt County, California
    #8
    I had two Crucial M4 SSDs in a Sonnet Tempo Pro (not RAIDed) and it was working fine until I recently upgraded to Samsung 840 Pros. But initially I had a lot of trouble with the card/SSDs causing system crashes. I was using one of the M4s for my OS. I reinstalled OSX several times but always got hung up and froze in the process. I finally figured out that I needed to place the M4 in one of the hard drive SATA slots for the reinstall to take root. Once the reinstall completed then I transfered the M4 back into the Tempo Pro. I never had any troubles with it since. I don't know if this will help you but I thought that I'd share.

    My system config:

    2010 Mac Pro 12-core 3.46GHz 48GB

    Slot 1: Nvidia GTX 680
    Slot 2: HighPoint RocketU USB 3
    Slot 3: Sonnet Tempo Pro
    Slot 4: Highpoint RocketU USB 3
     
  8. msbc thread starter macrumors newbie

    msbc

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #9
    I think this may be the problem - else a faulty card. My cards are:
    4 - Inateck 4 port USB 3.0
    3 - Sonnet Tempo
    2
    1 - Radeon 7950

    Which are covered by the posts in this topic - with the exception of the 7950.

    I don't have any other SSD's to test with, so have sent Sonnet Support an email.
    I'll update the thread with any resolution I get.

    Thanks to everyone who posted info.

    Mark
     

Share This Page