Macros on iWorks???

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by gtimark, Mar 21, 2008.

  1. gtimark macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2005
    Location:
    High Desert, CA
    #1
    I couldn't find any info on this, so here's the question:

    I have a macro for writing chemical formulas on my copy of MS Office 04 for macs, and I was wondering if one can import macros onto iWorks? It's an editing macro and I really don't want to give it up , but at the same time the sluggish nature of Office on my new MacBook is driving me nuts!

    Thanks for any advice.
     
  2. macsrules macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    #2
    No one put there two sense in so I thought I would. This is probably not the answer you where looking for but at least it's a reply. I am not sure that iWork will take the Macro's but if you can write the Macro in Apple Script you could try using Automator to run it.

    Here is the real reason I replied, here are three pieces of Mac Software that are Macro software and maybe one of these would be able to run your pre-built Macro's

    1. http://www.quickeys.com/products/qkx.html Quickeys for Mac.

    2. http://www.keyboardmaestro.com/main/ Keyboard Masetro

    3. http://www.hiteksoftware.com/mize/task-scheduler.htm Automize


    Again, these three are Macro Creating Software so maybe you could get your macro to work with them if not at least you will see three cool pieces of Mac Software.
     
  3. OldSkoolNJ macrumors 6502

    OldSkoolNJ

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
    #3
    Cant give you a reason why but no there are no Macros in iWork as well as they are not in Office 08. Would love to know why.

    Kevin :apple:
     
  4. gtimark thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2005
    Location:
    High Desert, CA
    #4
    Thanks for the responses! I guess I'll give Apple some feedback, after I have downloaded iWorks trial version. Not that They will listen to one voice, but what the heck! :D
     
  5. gauchogolfer macrumors 603

    gauchogolfer

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Location:
    American Riviera
    #5
    What kind of a macro is it? If it's written in VBA you can hardly expect Apple to support it. You'll have more luck trying to convince MS to include VBA support in Office 08, which is to say none at all. Maybe there is another program you could use to create the chemical formulas and export them to iWork?
     

Share This Page