macrumors address icon missing

Discussion in 'Site and Forum Feedback' started by mrial, Jan 9, 2009.

  1. mrial macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Location:
    Saint Paul, MN
    #1
    Just noticed that the address icon on the main news page is missing and the generic blue ball is in it's place on my computer. Is it just me? The apple face address icon appears just fine on the forums pages.
     
  2. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #2
    The front page favicon is working for me (in Opera, Firefox and Safari). Both favicons should appear below:

    [​IMG] - front page
    [​IMG] - forums

    If you can't see the front page favicon it might be worth checking you can access the link http://www.macrumors.com/favicon.ico.

    As always restarting the browser, resetting the browser, trying a different browser are worth trying.
     
  3. mrial thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Location:
    Saint Paul, MN
    #3
    Thanks, resetting Safari using the reset menu under "Safari" menu worked. It was nice that it gave you the option of resetting the "website icon" only by use of a check box. It's funny how these minor little things can be so annoying.
     
  4. JML42691 macrumors 68020

    JML42691

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    #4
    Maybe you aren't the person who would know the answer, but is their any particular reason as to why there is a different one for the forums and front page? The front page one seems much more crisp of an image.
     
  5. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #5
    Glad you got it sorted.

    The front page favicon is indeed better. I believe it is on the To Do list but will just go and make a note about it.

    We originally had the forums one as the favicon for everywhere. Then a new one was made and submitted to us by two different forum members as they noticed that the quaility wasn't that great. I guess when it was updated it wasn't do so on both sites (front page and forums).
     

Share This Page