Macrumors.com is using >100% CPU in Chrome

Discussion in 'Site and Forum Feedback' started by cloudyo, Jun 1, 2018.

  1. cloudyo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012
    #1
    Using the Chrome Task Manager under "chrome menu" -> "More Tools" -> "Task Manager" I have found out that Macrumors.com is using >100% CPU. Even the Forum page that I am on right now typing this very post uses >100% CPU. I'm on a Mac OS X 10.13.5 and using Chrome Version 67.0.3396.62 (Official Build) (64-bit) which is the latest version.

    I have more than 10 different Tabs open right now and none of them uses more than 1% CPU.
     
  2. SandboxGeneral Moderator emeritus

    SandboxGeneral

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Detroit
    #2
    FWIW, I'm not seeing any MacRumors CPU issues in Chrome. I'm on KDE Neon Linux right now. Selection_009.png
     
  3. cloudyo thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012
  4. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #4
    I'm not seeing a problem either. You think maybe you have a wonky extension?

    Screen Shot 2018-06-01 at 11.56.53 AM.png
     
  5. cloudyo thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012
    #5
    If it was an extension wouldn't it be the extension that has 100% CPU. In the Task manager you can see that I only have 2 extensions: Adblock and 1Password with <1% cpu usage.

    To make sure I deactivated all extensions and sure enough, the problem still exists:
    all extensions off.png
     
  6. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #6
    It's like that any time you launch the page? Even if you exit out of the browser and start fresh (or perhaps even restart your computer)?
     
  7. bwintx macrumors 6502

    bwintx

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    #7
    Since I'm at work, pitching in from the Dark Side with a Windows 10 screen capture:

    upload_2018-6-1_14-46-46.png
     

    Attached Files:

  8. cloudyo thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012
    #8
    yes, every time i launch the page. I tried: restarting browser, restarting mac, deleting all cache and site data, deleting all cached images. Nothing changed. Still 100% cpu usage.
     
  9. xnatex macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    #9
    It's ads. It's absolutely ridiculous.

    Here's my activity monitor without AdBlock Plus, Chrome (and friends) uses like 237% of my quad core CPU (which has a total of 400% CPU available). With AdBlock Plus enabled, Chrome uses like 15% CPU. Both screenshots were taken on this page. Some ad is performing massive amounts of SetTimeout calls, looking at the Chrome performance monitor. without ads.png with ads.png
    --- Post Merged, Jun 1, 2018 ---
    Here's half a second of Javascript activity from this page. There has to be 200 script calls in there. Note that I have ONE highlighted in the middle.
    Screen Shot 2018-06-01 at 10.48.01 PM.png

    Here's links to 3 of the files that seem to get called massive amounts of times.
    https://pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/js/r20180529/r20110914/abg.js
    https://tpc.googlesyndication.com/pagead/js/r20180529/r20110914/activeview/osd_listener.js
    https://pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/osd.js
     
  10. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #10
    It's interesting, while I haven't ran into this with MacRumors specifically (as I actually use Safari for the forums), since the last Chrome and/or macOS update from the last couple of days, there are pages that I visit and have open in tabs regularly that suddenly jump to 100% CPU usage in Chrome for no particular reason. Perhaps there's something more general behind it (like some issue with the latest Chrome and/or macOS update).
     
  11. aronahl macrumors newbie

    aronahl

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2018
    Location:
    Indiana
    #11
    Chrome devs did a naughty:
    https://productforums.google.com/forum/#!topic/chrome/qmxGjxqo0OA;context-place=forum/chrome
     
  12. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
  13. JimmyBanks6 macrumors member

    JimmyBanks6

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2017
    #13
    MacRumors tabs are running at 100-110 according to Chrome task manager. The next nearest tab is 4.

    If I have the website open my fan starts to pick up, and continues ramping until I close the tabs.

    Is anybody else having this issue? This started 2 days ago. I hope this site isn't mining coin using my computer.
     
  14. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #14
    Probably more related to the latest update of Chrome than MacRumors in particular, as being discussed at Macrumors.com is using >100% CPU in Chrome
     
  15. JimmyBanks6 macrumors member

    JimmyBanks6

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2017
    #15
  16. Krayzkat macrumors 6502a

    Krayzkat

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #16
    I think they've hijacked you to use you as a bitcoin miner......
     
  17. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #17
    Based on...?
     
  18. Krayzkat macrumors 6502a

    Krayzkat

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #18
    Speculation
     
  19. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
  20. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
  21. belvdr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    Location:
    No longer logging into MR
    #21
    After the update, I no longer see this issue.
     

Share This Page