Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

maflynn

macrumors Haswell
Original poster
May 3, 2009
I usually don't like the attention drawn on myself, and I hope people don't mind this somewhat self serving post. But I noticed earlier this week, I was closing in on the the 70,000 post mark, with this post, I hit that mark.

Some of you know that I'm a martial artist, and one aspect of my training is an ideal that is conveyed as Hansei - Self reflection, so here goes some self reflection

I joined MR, back in 2009, coming from Macnn. I found this site to be very active, with a large collection of helpful people, Some people who quickly come to mind who were around when I joined were @GGJstudios, @Hellhammer, @balamw, @GoCubsGo, @Doctor Q, and @SandboxGeneral. Sadly, most of which have moved on. There were others to be sure, too many to name. There were also plenty of people I disagreed with, but that's what makes this site the best. We can have a spirited discussion but yet remain respectful. Obviously, there were exceptions but by and large I really enjoyed the debates and dialogs.

I wanted to give @arn, @Doctor Q and @annk a ton of credit, in how they balance the needs and rights of the individual member with the needs of the community. Being a moderator for many years, I saw the good, bad and sadly the ugly. Yet through it all, they continue to propel MacRumors even higher.

I resigned as moderator last spring and largely left not just MR, but online sites. Life happens, and I needed to address some things in my personal life - for my own well being and to be honest stepping back to reflect and deal on those matters was my priority. I know I left without much notice, and I do apologize for that, but again I was focusing on my own well being and I felt I needed to just step back sooner then later.