MacRumors Widget in Leopard

Discussion in 'macOS' started by FadeToBlack, Oct 26, 2007.

  1. FadeToBlack macrumors 68000

    FadeToBlack

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    Accoville, WV
    #1
    My MacRumors widget is broken in Leopard. It works, but when you click on the links, nothing happens. Anyone else have this problem or know of a fix?

    This is THE widget of all widgets, IMO. MacRumors is my main Mac news source and I use the widget exclusively and barely ever go to the main page on here. So yeah, help! :cool:
     
  2. PeterSmith macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Location:
    Cambridge, UK
    #2
    Same problem here, I'm afraid. Well, at least we're not alone -- so there should be a fix soon!
     
  3. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
  4. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #4
    They weren't already in Forum Spy? :eek:
     
  5. FadeToBlack thread starter macrumors 68000

    FadeToBlack

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    Accoville, WV
    #5
    Yeah, that's a good idea, but it's not the same! :p

    I love the MacRumors widget because it lists the latest front page news stories and provides links to them. The only thing broken in the widget is that when you click on the links, nothing happens.
     
  6. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #6
    Why dedicate a widget to that and not aggregate it in with all your other RSS feeds?
     
  7. FadeToBlack thread starter macrumors 68000

    FadeToBlack

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    Accoville, WV
    #7
    Just personal preference, I guess. I've been using it a long time and when I wake my computer from sleep or turn it on, the first thing I do is open Dashboard and check the MacRumors widget.

    As I said, it still updates, but the links just won't work.

    Who made this widget originally?
     
  8. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #8
    I just fire up my aggregate page and all of my feeds are there.
     
  9. FadeToBlack thread starter macrumors 68000

    FadeToBlack

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    Accoville, WV
    #9
    Different strokes for different folks. :p
     
  10. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #10
    Quite true.

    I still find myself preferring going web site itself sometimes instead of getting their feed.

    Mind you I did at one time use Safari for RSS feeds but it got too annoying once you went past 20 of them.
     
  11. FadeToBlack thread starter macrumors 68000

    FadeToBlack

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    Accoville, WV
    #11
    I actually don't use RSS that much at all, so that's probably why I prefer using the widget. I used it a bit back when Tiger first came out, but not much since then. I get podcasts through iTunes, which uses RSS, I believe, but other than that, I don't use it.
     
  12. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #12
    Up to you on how you get your news.
     
  13. Zwhaler macrumors 603

    Zwhaler

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
  14. FadeToBlack thread starter macrumors 68000

    FadeToBlack

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    Accoville, WV
    #14
    So you can click on the link and it'll take you to the corresponding page?

    I tried re-installing and it still doesn't work right for me. Maybe I'm using a different version or something?
     
  15. stuff99 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 11, 2007
    #15
    a lot of widgets dont seem to be working properly right now....
     
  16. FadeToBlack thread starter macrumors 68000

    FadeToBlack

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    Accoville, WV
    #16
    I tried your idea of just using RSS. I put the MR feed into my bookmarks bar in Safari and I must say, I really like using it. This way, if you're in Safari, you can just glance up and see if anything new is in the feed. Thanks for the idea, man. I may even like this better than the MR widget. :cool:
     
  17. chairguru22 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Location:
    PA
    #17
    I have this problem with the MR widget too. Another of my widgets isnt working right and another doesnt work at all. This is killing my routine... :p
     
  18. Zwhaler macrumors 603

    Zwhaler

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    #18
    Oh your right, that part doesn't work. But it updates automatically, which is all I ever used it for anyway.
     
  19. FadeToBlack thread starter macrumors 68000

    FadeToBlack

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    Accoville, WV
    #19
    Who knows, it may start working correctly once Apple releases 10.5.1, but after just having the feed in my bookmarks bar for a day, I can honestly say I don't need the widget anymore. Was a cool widget, though. :cool:
     
  20. Pants Dragon macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    #20
    I'm also really missing the functionality of this widget.:( *sigh* I guess I'll just use RSS until it's fixed.
     

Share This Page