MacRumours GONE AGAIN

Discussion in 'Site and Forum Feedback' started by Reality4711, Jun 7, 2010.

  1. Reality4711 macrumors 6502

    Reality4711

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Location:
    scotland
    #1
    Sorry about this - I don't know where else to say this.

    Where does MR keep going.
    Just a grey page and address
    No one to ask
    Missed whole WWDC thing altogether
    Fed up
    Like the site - but!
    Does MR need more grunt/power/size whatever??
    Need a new hosting agreement - what?

    Any response from anyone who actually knows would be very good.

    Thank you
     
  2. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #2
    Must be on your end. No problems with MR throughout WWDC here. There were also plenty of other places you could have followed the keynote on the internet.
     
  3. yg17 macrumors G5

    yg17

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #3
    I was slacking off diligently working while checking the latest updates every few minutes on MR during the entire keynote. Must be on your end.
     
  4. Sky Blue Guest

    Sky Blue

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    #4
    was on macrumorslive for the whole keynote worked fine. Sounds like something your end was not forwarding macrumors.com to macrumorslive correctly.
     
  5. Reality4711 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Reality4711

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Location:
    scotland
    #5
    OK but!

    Thank you for the responses.

    I am in the UK and have had this problem quite often. Only with MR..

    Given 'my end' works everywhere else _ I used MacWorld site _ any other suggestions. Please.
     
  6. Tilpots macrumors 601

    Tilpots

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Location:
    Carolina Beach, NC
    #6
    Macrumorslive didn't work for me either. I was logged on before the keynote, saw the first three or four updates, then when the site refreshed itself, I lost it. The browser kept asking me to check the site's spelling to make sure I entered it correctly. I checked again after the keynote and it came back up fine. No problem, I watched Engadget's, but this is not the first time it's happened to me. Just wanted to report it...
     
  7. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #7
    This reads like a poem.

    Why didn’t you just use Engadget?
     
  8. achmafooma macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    #8
    Yeah, there was a definite routing issue of some kind. Hitting MacRumors bounced the URL bar to macrumorslive, which was 'not found' throughout the entire keynote.

    Works fine now though (and redirects to MacRumors).

    I'm reasonably certain that 'my end' wasn't the issue (and even more so now that others are reporting the same issue).
     
  9. Reality4711 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Reality4711

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Location:
    scotland
    #9
    Not just this time

    This something that has happened before and I tried to contact site admin to no avail.

    Have to go now but would really appreciate someone/anyone with an answer replying to this thread!:)
     
  10. leomac08 macrumors 68020

    leomac08

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #10
    I had a similar problem, I tried to look at the macrumors home page, but it directed me to the macrumors live and not the homepage!!!:mad:
     
  11. sushi Moderator emeritus

    sushi

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    キャンプスワ&#
    #11
    FWIW, it worked fine here in Japan.

    OP, I'm thinking that it must be something at your end.
     
  12. bobr1952 macrumors 68020

    bobr1952

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Location:
    Melbourne, FL
    #12
    Worked fine for me, maybe macrumorslive was not propagated throughout DNS servers.
     
  13. celticpride678

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #13
    MacRumors redirected everyone to MacRumorsLive.com instead of MacRumors.com during the keynote.
     
  14. szark macrumors 68030

    szark

    Joined:
    May 14, 2002
    Location:
    Arid-Zone-A
    #14
    macrumorslive.com was not working for me either during the keynote. Actually, macrumorslive.com was working, but it redirected to www.macrumorslive.com and that wasn't working.

    I looked up the IP addresses for macrumorslive.com and entered one of them directly - that worked for a short period of time until the entire page auto-refreshed and redirected me to www.macrumorslive.com (which still didn't work).

    Then I just stopped following directions, input another of the IP addresses, and refreshed manually every 3 minutes.
     
  15. Knox Administrator

    Knox

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Location:
    UK
    #15
    We did have a few reports of people not being able to resolve macrumorslive last year. I had hoped that it was fixed but obviously not :(


    What did you use to look up the IP addresses?
     
  16. szark macrumors 68030

    szark

    Joined:
    May 14, 2002
    Location:
    Arid-Zone-A
    #16
    nslookup on my Solaris machine at work:

    Code:
    > nslookup www.macrumorslive.com
    ...
    Non-authoritative answer:
    Name:    mrl-www.lb.reportinglive.com
    Addresses:  174.129.124.170, 184.73.9.154, 174.129.148.192, 184.73.43.249
              184.73.19.194, 184.73.27.46, 174.129.146.140, 184.73.105.89
    Aliases:  www.macrumorslive.com
     
  17. Knox Administrator

    Knox

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Location:
    UK
    #17
    Ah right. Does it work if you run (on your mac [edit] assuming it is a mac :) [/edit]):

    Code:
    dig @ns1.lb.tecknohost.com mrl-www.lb.reportinglive.com
    (or ns2-4)

    And presumably:

    Code:
    dig mrl-www.lb.reportinglive.com
    doesn't work?
     
  18. szark macrumors 68030

    szark

    Joined:
    May 14, 2002
    Location:
    Arid-Zone-A
    #18
    Unfortunately don't have access to a mac at work. ;)

    Using nslookup, I get the same results looking up mrl-www.lb.reportinglive.com that I do for www.macrumorslive.com using my normal nameserver.

    EDIT: I received similar results, but not the exact same IP addresses. Now I'm only getting one IP address.

    I get only timeouts when attempting to use ns1.lb.tecknohost.com (or ns2-4) as the nameserver.
     
  19. Reality4711 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Reality4711

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Location:
    scotland
    #19
    Not just WWDC

    It was my frustration having set up to use MR for this WWDC and to have all go 'funny' on me just when I needed it.

    The grey screen with 'macrumours *forum* has moved' on it followed by a URL.

    Which if you click on it takes you to the -------------------------- YUP grey page!

    This happens once or twice a week and not only the forum tab. *Any tab can lead to nowhere*.

    I have put it down to site overload in the past, but would like to know what the real cause is, so it can be fixed. That is all.

    Thank you. So Far.

    NB: I am on a MacPro Octo 3.2 but as my sig indicates have absolutely no idea what all that programming/address stuff is all about. I am strictly "I use Mac 'cause it works" sort of fella!
     
  20. iOrlando macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    #20
    hmm weird. macrumors was basically down for me the whole afternoon.

    you type macrumors.com and it bought you to the live website which was so delayed it was worthless. I basically stayed off this site all afternoon due to problems.
     
  21. dolphindolphin macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Location:
    New York
    #21
    MR was down for me from about 1:00-2:30 AM EST this morning. I was trying to load the Spoiler-Free thread, but I only got the gray header.
     
  22. Toppa G's macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Location:
    The exurbs, MN
    #22
    Exactly the same for me. Started out OK, but as soon as Steve took the stage, the liveupdate page would not load until 30 minutes after the keynote.
     

Share This Page