Mac's name changed?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by macuser1232, Oct 7, 2012.

  1. macuser1232 macrumors 6502a

    macuser1232

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    #1
    So, I just woke my Mac up this morning and when I tried installing something instead of just saying my first name like it always does it used my Real Name(first and last). How come it is showing my first and last name instead of just my first name now? It happens whenever something is administrator access only.
     
  2. macuser1232 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    macuser1232

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    #3
  3. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #4
    It just remembers the previously entered credentials I believe, if you put in the short name I'm sure that it will bring up the short name the next time it asks you...
     
  4. GGJstudios, Oct 7, 2012
    Last edited: Oct 7, 2012

    GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #5
    If you're referring to logging in or entering your admin password to authorize actions, that's how it normally is on every Mac I've used. It's always used the full name.

    Edit: I see you can use either one. I've just never used anything but the full name.

    OS X Mountain Lion: If you can’t remember your account name
     
  5. macuser1232 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    macuser1232

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    #6
    Oh ok it just worked. When I was trying to install something earlier it didn't work. I think something was messed up with it anyway. It was Silverlight.
     

Share This Page