Macs No Longer Featured in Blackmagic's New Product Photos

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by aaronhead14, Mar 2, 2017.

  1. aaronhead14 Suspended

    aaronhead14

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    #1
    Blackmagic just announced their new DaVinci Resolve panels. In the past, Blackmagic has always presented their products alongside Macs. But this time around, the photos show off their products with a PC/Dell monitor, and also with a Surface Book. Goes to show we're not the only ones who have realized that Apple has abandoned the pro market. It's really sad! Apple, come back!
    https://www.blackmagicdesign.com/products/davinciresolve/control
    (BTW if you go to other places on their site, you'll still see the old photos with Macs. But those are old photos).
    --- Post Merged, Mar 2, 2017 ---
    Here are the photos, to save you from having to navigate to the website.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  2. jeff7117 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    #2
    Not surprising at all really. The Pro community is moving on.
     
  3. MattZani macrumors 68030

    MattZani

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    To be fair the only new product Apple have released would need a dongle to be able to be plugged in with what they supply in the box. But it's more to do with the fact that OS X is no longer the only option, possibly also because there are now windows machines that are aesthetically pleasing enough to use in marketing.
     
  4. steveOooo macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    Typo but nice to see the British 'finished' instead of 'done'

    You're

    "
    Slide Out Keyboard
    Use the DaVinci Resolve Advanced Panel’s slide out keyboard when you need to enter clip metadata, name files, nodes or put notes on markers. When your finished the keyboard retracts into the control surface.
     
  5. pat500000 Suspended

    pat500000

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
  6. rawweb macrumors 6502a

    rawweb

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2015
    #6
    I'm saddened to see this but it makes a lot of sense. At this point, Blackmagic probably doesn't want to market with 2 year old iMac's and dongles attached to a MacBook Pro. Most of their old product pictures featured Apple Thunderbolt Displays, and since Apple decided to exit the display business, they had to find other things to use. IMO, Apple had the market cornered on most appealing displays. The black/aluminum look really married to things Blackmagic was putting out.

    In those terms, I think Blackmagic had a similar industrial design, even mimicked elements of their web design for a while. BM is a good company and is committed to how things look to customers. Even their packaging is great. Apple simply stopped making anything for them to market with.
     
  7. linuxcooldude macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    #7
    So what. Their products also work with Windows and now Linux.
     
  8. v0lume4 macrumors 65816

    v0lume4

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2012
    #8
    Interesting...

    If you ask me, it's the small details like these that help paint the picture of what's going on in a particular industry.

    edit -- While it's encouraging to see Microsoft doing well in the pro segment, I do ponder if BlackMagic was paid to feature Microsoft products in their product photos? Microsoft sees an opportunity and they have been trying to appeal to the pros that are dissatisfied with Apple. Wouldn't be surprised if Microsoft has been sending products to companies and paying them to photograph their equipment with Microsoft products. Anyone's thoughts?
     
  9. H2SO4 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    #9
    Definite possibility, but what makes you think Apple haven’t?
     
  10. jerwin macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2015
    #10
    Hmm

    Micro: $995 I suppose that's what the market will bear
    Mini: $2995 Maybe one can argue that it's 3 Micros worth of hardware.
    Advanced: $29995 What the hell are they smoking?
     
  11. mattspace macrumors 6502

    mattspace

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2013
    Location:
    Australia
    #11
    So around half the price of a high end "professional" medium format digital still camera / camera-back.

    That's pro equipment. That's what it costs.
     
  12. v0lume4 macrumors 65816

    v0lume4

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2012
    #12
    Oh no doubt about it. You're right. For example lots of TV shows have the little "Promotional materials supplied by Apple, Inc." in the credits for example. :) Was just entertaining the question.
    --- Post Merged, Mar 2, 2017 ---
    THAT'S how much medium format cameras cost?! :eek:
     
  13. steveOooo macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #13
    Gh4 (i use most of the time, weekly) £1500
    Fs7 'Pro broadcast ish camera £5000-£8000
    Fs5 smaller cousin to the fs7 £3000-£4000
    F5 - bigger boy £10-£15000
    Red / cinema phantom type cameras £mooooooore

    £=$ lol
     
  14. jerwin macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2015
    #14
    The software, however, looks to be free. Perhaps this is a clever way of recouping the cost of software development from organizations that have the means to pay for it.

    The Alpa is $56,000.

    https://petapixel.com/2016/05/09/video-100mp-phase-one-alpa-50k-royal-pain-use/
     
  15. mattspace macrumors 6502

    mattspace

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2013
    Location:
    Australia
    #15
    For a single GPU system, once you want to use multiple GPUs I think their pricing scales up pretty high.
     
  16. MacStu09 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    #16
    I wouldn't be surprised at all if there was a deal; judging by that ever so prominently featured Windows logo. But at the same time, it only makes sense. Why advertise new products with old Macs? Apple now offers no comparative solutions to the high-end PC market, especially in the GPU field. So, it only makes sense to advertise professional video products with the equipment most individuals will likely be using.
     
  17. mattspace macrumors 6502

    mattspace

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2013
    Location:
    Australia
    #17
  18. jerwin macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2015
    #18
    He had a behind the scenes video that, among other things shows some of the phase one bugs.



    But, sure, if you want a positive review there's always this.

    https://luminous-landscape.com/phase-one-series-alpa-iq-250-camera-review/
    --- Post Merged, Mar 3, 2017 ---
    Oh right. $995 for the pro version.
     
  19. xWhiplash macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    #19
    Especially GPU?

    Explain to me what is so "pro" compared to the new Apple laptops? The Surface Book is locked to 16GB of RAM too you know. It is only 13". It only has a GTX 965m 2GB dGPU. Oh and guess what? IT HAS SKYLAKE!!!
     
  20. aaronhead14 thread starter Suspended

    aaronhead14

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    #20
    That's what it has cost for about the last decade, so it shouldn't be surprising... and Blackmagic has actually lowered prices since they purchased DaVinci, haha. Also, I used to use that control surface every day. It's well worth it for companies that benefit from the speed and precision that it offers. It saves money in the long run because you can work so much quicker.

    Yeah, if you want to buy a RED Weapon, for example, it's gonna cost you roughly $60,000.
     
  21. mattspace macrumors 6502

    mattspace

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2013
    Location:
    Australia
    #21
    Looking at the weird colours, and then the luminous landscape review, I'd almost wonder if he had one of the exposure zone display modes active. But anyway, complaining about no inbuilt meter = you should have a handheld meter.
     
  22. Larry-K macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011
    #22
    There are certainly less expensive medium format systems that are capable of delivering professional quality images.

    In this case, the 100MP back is the main expense, and in most circumstances it would be overkill.

    In the case of the reviewer in the video, anything more expensive than an iPhone would have been wasted.
     
  23. MacStu09 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    #23
    I think you missed my discussion point entirely. As the OP first mentioned the dell monitor (and PC likely paired with the monitor), I'm not talking about laptops as 'pro' devices. That's just marketing language, anyways. These laptops are not even close to "pro" workstation specs. And since the products at hand here are Blackmagic tools, it makes sense to address real workstations as the main subjects. The laptops are just eye candy. And to answer your question, nothing really. The surface books and macbook pro's are both just portable, fairly similar, mid-range machines.

    My GPU comment was obviously (as most mobile devices have the same top-end 965/395 options) referencing the professional computer/workstation market, in which Apple is vastly behind. Mobile GPU's are fine for laptops, but all up-to-date Apple computers only offer mobile GPU's. As these are blackmagic tools, and no serious grading will be happening on a mobile device with a mobile GPU, workstation users are likely the largest market being targeted. And my point was that it's unlikely anyone would include an old Apple monitor and old Mac Pro in an ad for modern products.

    For more clarification on the GPU statement - in case you weren't familiar with the current scenario, literally, the best GPU solution Apple currently offers is the 4+ year old D700 in the Mac Pro. For reference, there are $150 cards now that outperform the D700 (and obviously outperform every other Apple computer that has a mobile 395, etc.) With Vega and more coming soon, Apple will only fall even further behind in the pro market, especially in the field of GPU's.

    Long story short, anyone who buys a Mac that is currently available for sale is receiving a computer that will never even reach the GPU performance of a $150, low-mid range PC card. And that should be a pretty big concern in the professional market.
     
  24. pierrox macrumors regular

    pierrox

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2015
    Location:
    Paris, France
    #24
    Yep, I got their newsletter and they clearly push the Linux versions in front, saying it allows people to build way more powerful machines with lots more pci and gpu than with other OSes. Which shouldn't scare people in the industry as Flame, Smoke and other finishing software have been on Linux for a while.
     
  25. aaronhead14 thread starter Suspended

    aaronhead14

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    #25
    Well, Resolve has been available on Linux for a really long time too. The only difference now is that they've made it available to customers who don't own the $30,000 control surface. So that's really awesome.
     

Share This Page