MacScan - Do you like it - Is it needed?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by bigsky, Mar 13, 2009.

1. bigsky macrumors newbie

Hello!

I was looking at possibly installing MacScan but wanted to see what others thought first.
    I am relatively new to Macs. On my PCs I've had antivirus software before but one thing I disliked about any antivirus software was it always seemed to reduce my performance...everything ran slower because the stupid software was always running. I hated it.

Does MacScan work constantly??
    Has anyone noticed it slowing their machines down?
    Is it possible to say load it- run a scan - and then remove it completely off the computer?

I am curious to know what you all think.

Thanks!!

And on a related subject - while surfing on Safari I was doing a Google search - I clicked on a link and BAM - I got this popup (what appeared to be a Safari popup) that said my computer had been infected. It really didn't give me the choice of cancel out of the popup box and so when I clicked on Continue it basically flashed up another popup box or window that appeared to show a bunch of files and graphics and it even made it look like it was doing a system scan of infected files. I panicked and closed it down immediately. It was a safari window. Was this just a scareware deal or is it possible by somehow clicking on a link I got a bunch of bad stuff downloaded??

Thanks for the two-parter (the first part is inspired by the second part!)

2. Ivan P macrumors 68030

Ivan P

Don't install any type of antivirus on your Mac. It slows it down and is totally not needed.

And about that poput, don't worry about it. Virutally every single virus created was made for Windows computers, and wouldn't affect a Mac at all.

3. Neil321 macrumors 68040

Neil321

1, nope not needed, no viruses in the wild ( at present ), if your experiencing slowdowns try running something like onyx,checking your HDD isn't too full etc