MacSierra 10.12.1 Public Beta 1 broke dual monitors

Discussion in 'macOS Sierra (10.12)' started by sniffs, Sep 28, 2016.

  1. sniffs macrumors regular

    sniffs

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    #1
    So I use both thunderbolt ports on my Macbook Pro Retina for monitors.. on Friday of last week it was working fine, MacSierra 10.12

    Sometime on Saturday I installed the 10.12.1 Public Beta 1, everything seemed ok until I came into my office and plugged both monitors into the 2 Tbolt ports.

    My Left monitor never turned on. I unplugged and re-plugged a dozen times, nothing. If I unplug the active right monitor that is working, the left monitor turns on. This doesn't appear to be a hardware issue at that point. I boot into diagnostic mode and both monitors work. It generates a VFD002 error which I send to Apple.

    Apple issues out 10.12.1 Public Beta 2 which I HOPE fixes the issue, nope.

    So my left monitor no longer displays when plugged in. If I unplug the right monitor the left one turns on. If I plug the right monitor back in it never turns back on. If I unplug both monitors, I can plug either one into either of the 2 tbolt ports and the ports work perfectly fine.. it's just they don't work when 2 are plugged in. I've tried resetting NVRAM and SMC, nada.

    EDIT: TL;DR - Both ports dont work simultaneously. I can plug my right monitor individually into either port and it works. I can plug my left monitor into either port and it works. If I plug both in, only 1 works.

    Anyone else have this odd issue?
     
  2. mike666999, Sep 28, 2016
    Last edited: Sep 28, 2016

    mike666999 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2016
    Location:
    Florida
    #2
    Yes me :-( I am using one thunderbolt and the HDMI.

    Did you try yesterdays new beta ?
     
  3. sniffs thread starter macrumors regular

    sniffs

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    #3
    I did, the Public Beta 2? Yeah I installed that and it didn't fix the issue.
     
  4. mike666999 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2016
    Location:
    Florida
  5. dogslobber macrumors 68020

    dogslobber

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2014
    Location:
    Apple Campus, Cupertino CA
  6. mike666999 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2016
    Location:
    Florida
    #6
    still the same !

    @dogslobber did you do an update or a fresh install?
     
  7. dogslobber macrumors 68020

    dogslobber

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2014
    Location:
    Apple Campus, Cupertino CA
    #7
    I've upgraded this computer from SL.
     
  8. mike666999, Sep 30, 2016
    Last edited: Sep 30, 2016

    mike666999 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2016
    Location:
    Florida
  9. sniffs thread starter macrumors regular

    sniffs

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    #9
    Nice, at least there's a post on their forums now so they are aware of it. I hope it's fixed soon.. Been using Beta's for awhile now and never once experienced a straight up broken feature like this before.
     
  10. mike666999 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2016
    Location:
    Florida
    #10
    Neither did I, my guess is they playing around for the separate function key display on the new Pros
     
  11. mike666999 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2016
    Location:
    Florida
    #12
    done, as well as nvram and cleaned everything with the Onyx.
     
  12. sniffs thread starter macrumors regular

    sniffs

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    #13
    @mike666999 I have the exact same MBPR as you. I'm wondering if it only affects these models with the ATI M370X cards?
     
  13. mike666999 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2016
    Location:
    Florida
    #14
    that could be too. The Golden Master worked fine though!
     
  14. sniffs thread starter macrumors regular

    sniffs

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    #15
    It did which is odd.. I have a few other Mac's on the 10.12.1 Beta 2 but none have dual tbolt ports for me to test this..
     
  15. mike666999 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2016
    Location:
    Florida
    #16
    dev beta 3 just came out. Can someone who has access please test it?
     
  16. sniffs thread starter macrumors regular

    sniffs

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    #17
    How long typically after the Dev's beta's do the public beta's arrive?
     
  17. mike666999 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2016
    Location:
    Florida
  18. sniffs thread starter macrumors regular

    sniffs

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    #19
    Public Beta 3 is available.. I'm downloading now. Will report back.
     
  19. mike666999 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2016
    Location:
    Florida
    #20
    just installed Beta 3 and it didn't fix the problem :-(
     
  20. drmito macrumors member

    drmito

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2014
    Location:
    Hoboken, NJ
    #21
    Nothing. I can only use one of my two external monitors
     
  21. sniffs thread starter macrumors regular

    sniffs

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    #22
    So annoying!!! It has to be a display driver issue because I can plug my tbolt to Ethernet adapter into the other tbolt port and it works fine. If I unplug it and plug my monitor back in it doesn't come on.
     
  22. adamzeis macrumors newbie

    adamzeis

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2016
    #23
    I'm having this exact issue as well. I just got dual displays for the first time yesterday, so I can't say that they worked previously, but they don't work together now. I can get either to work on it's own, but not both to work at the same time. I'm running a mid 2015 rMBP AMD Radeon R9, with two ASUS VS248 displays, both HDMI > Thunderbolt. Sierra beta 10.12.1.

    I tried using one HDMI > Thunderbolt and the other HDMI > HDMI, but no luck there either. Still only recognizes one.

    I was on the phone with Apple for about 45min yesterday and they couldn't resolve the issue.
     
  23. sniffs thread starter macrumors regular

    sniffs

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    #24
    So you have the same laptop as the rest of us.. I'm wondering if it's an issue specific to this laptop. @drmito, what Mac do you have?
     
  24. drmito macrumors member

    drmito

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2014
    Location:
    Hoboken, NJ
    #25
    Mbp 15 mid 2015
     

Share This Page