MacTheRipper doesn't work anymore... alternative program?

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by MasterHowl, Jul 21, 2011.

  1. MasterHowl macrumors 65816

    MasterHowl

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Location:
    North of England
    #1
    Hello,

    I like to rip DVDs onto my Mac, but MacTheRipper doesn't work anymore, it says it's a Power PC application or something.

    I'm not an expert on that sort of stuff, so I don't know what it's talking about!

    Is there anything I can do about it, or will I need to find some new software to do the job? Any recommendations anyone?

    Thanks!

    PS: Loving Lion so far!
     
  2. Etnies419, Jul 21, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 21, 2011

    Etnies419 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    #2
    Never mind, Handbrake doesn't rip DVDs.

    Edit: Apparently it does rip them... I'm all confused now :p
     
  3. MadDog31 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    #3
    Uh oh...I just installed Lion yesterday along with MTR, but haven't tested it yet. This isn't good...

    I echo the OP's question.
     
  4. Nuckinfuts macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    Location:
    Syracuse, NY
    #4
    Make a snow leopard partition and use it there, all alternatives are basically nil since they've all be sued into oblivion
     
  5. MadDog31 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    #5
    Wait a minute, I use HandBrake for encoding...it also rips? If anyone wants to slap me right now for not knowing this fact, go right ahead.
     
  6. Nuckinfuts macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    Location:
    Syracuse, NY
    #6
    Handbrake doesn't decrypt DVDs, so in essence that functionality of it is useless on any DVD you buy
     
  7. MadDog31 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    #7
    Unless you're running an application like Fairmount in the background, right?
     
  8. kyle1320 macrumors regular

    kyle1320

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    In my own little world
    #8
    I haven't tried MacTheRipper to compare it, but I agree with etnies419's recommendation for Handbrake.
     
  9. Etnies419 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    #10
    Oh, I was mistaken. I thought it did, then again I never rip DVDs :p
     
  10. Brammy macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    #11
    Huh. I've used Handbrake to rip encoded DVDs, I think.

    Clarification: I think the OS X version does decrypt, but the Windows version does not.
     
  11. Nuckinfuts macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    Location:
    Syracuse, NY
    #12
    Even then I doubt it will work
     
  12. MasterHowl thread starter macrumors 65816

    MasterHowl

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Location:
    North of England
    #13
    Just using HandBreak to RIP it, never used it before to do this!

    I looked at using RipIt, but it costs money and I'd prefer using the free option :)

    Thanks for the replies everyone!
     
  13. Nuckinfuts macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    Location:
    Syracuse, NY
    #14
    you'll post back when its done and your video is encrypted lol
     
  14. AlanShutko macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    #15
    It works.

    Also, consider upgrading to a newer MTR. 4 will at least start on Lion, though I haven't tried using it.
     
  15. xraydoc macrumors 604

    xraydoc

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Location:
    192.168.1.1
    #16
    +1 for RipIt.

    Also, HandBrake will rip a DVD if you also have VLC on your machine. HandBrake will make use of VLC's deCCS library (or something like that).
     
  16. Brammy macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    #17
    I've ripped countless of DVDs with Handbrake and they aren't encypted.
     
  17. Brammy macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    #18
    Aha, that's it. I knew there was a complement piece.
     
  18. saving107 macrumors 603

    saving107

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Location:
    San Jose, Ca
    #19
    It does decrypt DVD's (I'm using it right now), but you need to have VLC installed as well.

    Edit:

    xraydoc beat me to it. :)
     
  19. Nuckinfuts macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    Location:
    Syracuse, NY
    #20
    Ah ok, didn't know it would get VLC's libCSS, I know on Windows if both are installed it doesn't work, viva la unix systems!
     
  20. iVoid macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    #21
    Correct, It lets VLC do the decryption.
     
  21. netnothing macrumors 68040

    netnothing

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Location:
    NH
    #22
    Handbrake on OS X will rip and decode DVDs assuming you have VLC installed as well.

    It uses VLC's decoding libraries.

    Make sure both are the same bit versions (example...both 64-bit)

    -Kevin
     
  22. MasterHowl thread starter macrumors 65816

    MasterHowl

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Location:
    North of England
    #23
    Yes don't worry I will :)

    Taking ages though... around 1 hour left to go!
     
  23. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #24
    why are people saying handbrake? it is NOT a replacement program for mtr

    Personally, I would look into Ripit or Fairmount
     
  24. Brammy macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    #25
    Not being a smartass, but why not? Genuinly curious.
     

Share This Page