Mafia 3 (Mac version) on Mac Pro 5.1

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by OEMPT, May 21, 2017.

  1. OEMPT macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2015
    #1
    Mafia 3 (Mac version) on Mac Pro 5.1

    Anyone got it running?

    My 8 core cMP 5.1 with an ATI Radeon RX 460 4gb (Gigabyte) doesn´t even load up the game... I thought that it was fully ATI card compatible, especially after seing that they support the Radeon Pro 450, 455 and 460 series (Polaris 11) from the new Macbook Pro :(
     
  2. jeanlain macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    #2
    It's a PC card right?
    In the same vein, I got Bioshock Infinite from Apsyr and it would not launch on my Mac Pro equipped with a PC Radeon HD 4870. Then I switched to a PC R9 280 and it's still a no go. No way to make it run, which is weird considering that both cards are virtually the same than the Mac Edition versions (the R9 280 is a rebadged radeon 7950, which Sapphire used to sell to Mac users).
    So I'm not surprised Mafia III doesn't run on your Mac, considering Apple never sold an equivalent card.
     
  3. JaguarGod macrumors 6502

    JaguarGod

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    #3
    I downloaded the game, but have not had a chance to try it yet with my flashed 280X. Will let you know when I try it.
     
  4. OEMPT thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2015
    #4
    Any news ?

    I wonder if the upcoming 10.12.6 will fix anything.
     
  5. MarkC426 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    I noticed you had a post in the 'metal' thread with the same problem.
    The cMP does not support metal.

    Mac computers that support Metal
    Find out if your Mac computer supports Metal in OS X El Capitan and later.


    Metal is a graphics technology from Apple that allows the main processor (CPU) and graphics processor (GPU) to work together more effectively, providing faster and more fluid graphics performance in games and high-performance apps.

    These Mac computers support Metal:

    • MacBook (2015 and later)
    • MacBook Air (2012 and later)
    • MacBook Pro (2012 and later)
    • Mac mini (2012 and later)
    • iMac (2012 and later)
    • Mac Pro (Late 2013)
     
  6. jeanlain macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    #6
    The cMP sure does support Metal if it has the right GPU. Heck, even my 2006 Mac Pro does.
     
  7. MarkC426, Jun 18, 2017
    Last edited: Jun 18, 2017

    MarkC426 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    That's good to know.
    I was just going off Apple's supported list (obviously based on stock cards only in the cMP)
    :)

    Does the Gigabyte or Sapphire RX 460 support metal then.

    OFF TOPIC
    Interesting thing is, the min requirements on Steam VR for Mac is a GPU that supports metal
    (not an RX 580 as mentioned on the iMac specs)
     
  8. JaguarGod macrumors 6502

    JaguarGod

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    #8
    Yes, "jeanlain" is correct, the cMP supports Metal fine with certain video cards. I have had great luck with my R9 280X Toxic edition running F1 2016 and yes, Mafia III is working also. They look and run beautifully, though there are a few texture resolutions issues in F1 2016. I have put more hours into F1 2016 than any other racing game I have played over the last 30+ years except for the Final Lap arcade game!
     
  9. Mattww, Sep 22, 2017
    Last edited: Sep 23, 2017

    Mattww macrumors 6502

    Mattww

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    #9
    Just tried launching this game again on my 4.1 flashed to 5.1 that is now a 12-core 3.06GHz on 10.12.6.

    I’ve tried with EFI flashed GTX680 and now an EFI flashed R9 280X but it just crashes as soon as I hit the play button.

    The crash log shows:

    Exception Type: EXC_BAD_INSTRUCTION (SIGILL)
    Exception Codes: 0x0000000000000001, 0x0000000000000000
    Exception Note: EXC_CORPSE_NOTIFY

    Termination Signal: Illegal instruction: 4
    Termination Reason: Namespace SIGNAL, Code 0x4
    Terminating Process: exc handler [0]


    I'm not sure if it looks at the CPU clock being under 3.2GHz or something else is happening but it is odd given your 6-Core 3.33GHz works.
     
  10. OEMPT thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2015
    #10
    So the GPU seems not to be the problem... but CPU dependent then.

    I recall when contacting there support that they mentioned that the CPU would not be compatible. Although they generalized it to all Xeon Cpu's... I guess it may be speed dependent then ?

    Someone else can try Mafia III on a faster Xeon 3.33 ou 3.46ghz to confirm ?

    That would help justify my future CPU swap :) :) :)
     
  11. Mattww macrumors 6502

    Mattww

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    #11
    Either that or it doesn't like a dual socket machine - strange either way especially when a 6-core 3.33GHz with the same GPU works.
     
  12. Mattww macrumors 6502

    Mattww

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    #12
    I'd forgotten about this thread but just a quick update to say that even on 10.13.2 with an RX580 8GB the game still won't launch on my 12-core 3.06GHz. Strange that something in the MacOS code for this game won't let it run when over recent titles like Deus Ex Mankind divided, Hitman and F1 2017 all will.
     
  13. jeanlain macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    #13
    I had a similar problem with with Mac Pro 1.1 and Bioshock infinite, another Aspyr game.
    The game would crash before even showing the first window (which isn't even the game proper, but the generic Aspyr settings/ad window), and there was no way around it. Even upgrading the GPU to a flashed radeon R9 280 didn't solve it.
    But the game would launch without issue on a more recent iMac with a weaker GPU. I had no issue with other recent non-Aspyr games.
     

Share This Page