Magic Track Pad...after two weeks "It's a bummer"

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by SvK, Sep 20, 2011.

1. SvK macrumors 6502

SvK

Magic Track Pad...after two weeks "It's a bummer"

Hi,

I work as a senior sound-designer for a major VideoGame Developer. Three of us in our sound-design department have switched to Lion, and decided to embrace "gestures". All of us literally forced ourselves to ONLY use the magic trackpad for the past 2 weeks.

We use ProTools, Logic, Wavelab. In short there is a lot of precision editing going on in our field of work. Lots of zooming in and chopping up of audio at a very meticulous level.

The gestures are well thought out and work like a charm. You get used to them very quickly.

But once you get down to editing very precise points in the audio files, your fingers start jerking over the pad and your hand wants to rest on the pad the way it does on a mouse and you just can't. Basically your hand needs to hover above the pad with just your fingers touching it, while your palm is below the pad. After 2 hours you start cramping up and you just want to grab something.......like a mouse ;-)

That's the main rub. When one uses a mouse, the hand rests on it when your not engaging it....not so with the pad.

Keep in mind we used these things exclusively for 2 weeks. In my case 3 weeks.

We really gave it a shot....

So if Lion is all about gestures (it kinda is) and most of these gestures are only accessible with the TragicPad...where does that leave gestures?

best,
    SvK

2. Bernard SG macrumors 65816

Bernard SG

The Magic Trackpad is definitely not a Pro-friendly device. On the other hand it's extremely powerful for a general user/consumer. It's a navigation device, mostly and it speeds up workflows.
    In a case like yours, a mouse is still necessary. Using both combined is probably the way to go.

3. ian.maffett macrumors 6502

ian.maffett