Mail App For Mac, Need Recommendations

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Rodster, Dec 24, 2013.

1. Rodster macrumors 68040

One of the most disappointing aspects to OS X is the Mail App. Yeah they added a few more Mail clients but it's absolutely atrocious and clunky and neutered when compared to the Mail App for iOS 7.

The iOS 7 Mail App is so good that I ditched Windows 8 because that had a great mail client as well but iOS 7 is just so much better. The Yahoo Mail App for iOS 7 is fantastic as well.

Are you guys using any decent Mail Apps that can handle Hotmail/Outlook/Yahoo?

2. mpantone, Dec 24, 2013
    Last edited: Dec 24, 2013

mpantone macrumors 6502

I have been using the Apple Mail app successfully since around 2002 with a variety of POP3 and IMAP services, primarily Yahoo and AOL in the past few years.

I have also been using the iOS Mail app successfully with the same services since 2008.

I do not see any specific issue using these mail clients with the aforementioned services; Yahoo Mail (IMAP) has been my primary e-mail service for several years now.

I have also used these clients to a lesser extent with Hotmail and Gmail with secondary accounts. I do not note any egregious problems, perhaps because I only use those services rather sparingly for junk accounts (signing up for contests, newsletters, etc.) and log in infrequently.

Anyhow, good luck.

3. MisterMe macrumors G4

MisterMe

Let us clarify terms. Mail is an email client. Yahoo Mail, Gmail, Hotmail, Rocketmail, etc. are email accounts. What you call clients are really just setup wizards. They are completely and totally unnecessary. However, they are convenient for users who subscribe to one of the more popular email providers. However, most people who established accounts before these wizards were developed entered our setting manually--and we liked it!