Mail.app HELP

Discussion in 'iPod touch Hacks' started by CrazyTexan, Dec 22, 2007.

  1. CrazyTexan macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2007
    #1
    I got the mail app and once i type in all my information it says | Cannot Get Mail... The user name or passowrd for "imap.apple.mail.yahoo.com" is incorrect. i am positive i have the right username and password.... so i don't know what is wrong. is there a certain password you have to use for the itouch mail app to work?
     
  2. jackiecanev2 macrumors 65816

    jackiecanev2

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    #2
    No, you use your same 'ol username and login. However, your mail server name looks wrong. If youre using a .mac addy, try "mail.mac.com"; if you're using yahoo, try "pop.mail.yahoo.com"
     
  3. VToX macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    #3
    You can't use Yahoo.

    You cannot use Yahoo for the Mail App on the iPod Touch.
     
  4. IMcD23 macrumors regular

    IMcD23

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Location:
    Iowa, United States, Earth, Milky Way, . . .
    #4
    Hey,

    Delete the account then go to Settings -> Mail -> Add Account -> Other -> Pop, then enter name, address, and description, for incoming mail server, say pop.mail.yahoo.com and enter username (address without @yahoo.com) and password. For Outgoing mail server, say smtp.mail.yahoo.com and enter username (address without @yahoo.com) and password. If it asks, say yes to enable ssl. Hit home button and say Settings -> Mail -> [Your Account] -> Advanced. For Incoming, say Use SSL=On, Authentication=Password, Server Port=995. For Outgoing, say the same as incoming, but Server Port=465. Hope it helps!

    IMcD23
     
  5. solarguy17 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    #5
    Remember POP access for Yahoo costs money, IMAP is free. GMAIL has free IMAP also that isnt iphone exclusive.

    Yahoo IMAP is iphone exclusive and not even a jailbroken ipod with the iphone apps will work with it.
     
  6. Bitter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    #6
    That does not work for me. It says that incoming mail server is incorrect for 'pop.mail.yahoo.com'



    Bitter.
     
  7. Nickr1313 macrumors regular

    Nickr1313

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    #7
    THX SO MUCH Solarguy and imcd, imcd for the instructions and solarguy for the IMAP remark, it finnaly works.
     
  8. Bitter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    #8
    huh? wait? how? please tell me.


    Bitter.
     
  9. Nickr1313 macrumors regular

    Nickr1313

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    #9
    Follow IMcD's instructions on how to create an email account only dont click on pop(the name in the "Others" section of Email), click on the word IMAP. It worked for me, i hope it works for you;)


    PS, i think this only works for Yahoo
     
  10. starwars246 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    #10
    does anyone know how to get a hotmail account working, it wants me to type in loads of stuff i dont know when i click other
     
  11. Bitter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    #11
    Thanks
    So do I still put the incoming and outgoing address to pop.mail.yahoo.com and smtp.mail.yahoo.com?


    Bitter.
     
  12. Nickr1313 macrumors regular

    Nickr1313

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    #12
    yes
     
  13. Nickr1313 macrumors regular

    Nickr1313

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    #13
    everythings the same only you click IMAP instead of Pop
     
  14. Bitter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    #14
    I get this: "pop.mail.yahoo.com is not responding. Check your network connection and that you entered the correct information in the "incoming mail server" field.


    Help?


    Bitter.
     
  15. Nickr1313 macrumors regular

    Nickr1313

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    #15
    Im sorry, i have no idea what to do. im only 13:D
     
  16. Bitter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    #16
    So how did you get yours to work if you say you don't know what to do?
    Obviously you do know if you got it to work, unless you are just lying to everyone.


    Bitter.
     
  17. Nickr1313 macrumors regular

    Nickr1313

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    #17
    no, i did it but i didnt get the problem you have, sry, i dont know how to help you
     
  18. Bitter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    #18
    Tell me what you used as the incoming and outgoing address.


    Bitter.
     
  19. Nickr1313 macrumors regular

    Nickr1313

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    #19
    incoming host name: pop.mail.yahoo.com


    outgoing host name: smtp.mail.yahoo.com
     
  20. Bitter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    #20
    what do you have for the server port for incoming and outgoing?
     
  21. iREACTTOTHIS macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008

Share This Page