Mail App in Lion OS X

lbeck

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Dec 5, 2009
I'm digging the mail app in Lion, not sure if I like it enough to switch from Gmail, I've been using that for 10 years now. Anyway, one thing that definitely won't allow me to switch is the search function.

Right now, no search results are coming back to me. Anything I search for shows up empty handed, even a specific email in my inbox.

Anyone else experience this?

cas85

macrumors regular
May 4, 2010
no my search function seems to work fine. the only thing i can suggest is to make sure it's searching the right inbox. for example, i was searching for a personal email in my .edu address inbox, and it didn't show. then i remembered to switch it to my gmail inbox. if you have an inbox selected when you search, thats what it searches and you have to tell it to search more on the top menu bar.

Comment

Maccleduff

macrumors regular
Jun 26, 2007
Try going to the menubar Mailbox > Rebuild
It should reindex all your emails and hoepfully make search work again

Comment

lbeck

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Dec 5, 2009
Why not have mail access gmail via imap?
Thats exactly what I'm doing. I set up my gmail account via mail. I just like the interface of gmail better.

I'll try to rebuild my mail index, that has to be it. I get zero results no matter what I do. And yes, I'm searching the correct spot, even tried search "all mail" and get nothing.

Let me try this ...

Comment

lbeck

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Dec 5, 2009
Nope, didn't work at all. Something is wrong, no search results show up. Maybe I'll delete my account and set it up again. What do you think?

Comment

Maccleduff

macrumors regular
Jun 26, 2007
Nope, didn't work at all. Something is wrong, no search results show up. Maybe I'll delete my account and set it up again. What do you think?