Mail App in Lion OS X

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by lbeck, Jul 22, 2011.

1. lbeck macrumors 6502

lbeck

I'm digging the mail app in Lion, not sure if I like it enough to switch from Gmail, I've been using that for 10 years now. Anyway, one thing that definitely won't allow me to switch is the search function.

Right now, no search results are coming back to me. Anything I search for shows up empty handed, even a specific email in my inbox.

Anyone else experience this?

2. cas85 macrumors regular

no my search function seems to work fine. the only thing i can suggest is to make sure it's searching the right inbox. for example, i was searching for a personal email in my .edu address inbox, and it didn't show. then i remembered to switch it to my gmail inbox. if you have an inbox selected when you search, thats what it searches and you have to tell it to search more on the top menu bar.

3. mgridgaway macrumors 6502

mgridgaway

4. Maccleduff macrumors regular

Try going to the menubar Mailbox > Rebuild
    It should reindex all your emails and hoepfully make search work again

5. lbeck thread starter macrumors 6502

lbeck

Thats exactly what I'm doing. I set up my gmail account via mail. I just like the interface of gmail better.

I'll try to rebuild my mail index, that has to be it. I get zero results no matter what I do. And yes, I'm searching the correct spot, even tried search "all mail" and get nothing.

Let me try this ...

6. lbeck thread starter macrumors 6502

lbeck

Nope, didn't work at all. Something is wrong, no search results show up. Maybe I'll delete my account and set it up again. What do you think?

7. Maccleduff macrumors regular

Has spotlight finished indexing? If its still going the spotlight icon in the top right will have a dot in it. Thats the only thing i can think of so far...

8. lbeck thread starter macrumors 6502

lbeck