Mail doesn't connect properly after recovering from sleep

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by jeremynsl, Jan 6, 2008.

1. jeremynsl macrumors newbie

I have a Macbook Pro 2.2 with Leopard installed. I'm relatively new to Macs - this is my first Mac though I've used them in the past.

I am connected wirelessly to a 2Wire DSL modem (supplied by my ISP Sasktel). The connection works fine. The problem is when I recover from sleep, Mail doesn't connect properly to my mailservers. All other internet works fine though. But with Mail I get a little (!) next to each account, and nothing I can seem to do fixes this except restarting the computer.

This is a pretty frustrating problem since I frequently put my Mac into sleepmode and generally want to check my email right as soon as its starts up.

2. Makosuke macrumors 603

Just to check, what happens when you right-click on one of the accounts and select "Take online..."? Does the ! stay?

If only a restart will fix it, I assume quitting and re-opening Mail doesn't do anything, but does the ! appear immediately after a restart, or not until Mail first tries to check (maybe disable auto-checking temporarily to confirm this).

I've seen Mail fail to get mail immediately after a wake because it takes the network connection a couple seconds to kick in, but never once seen it just die like that.

3. jeremynsl thread starter macrumors newbie

When I select 'take online', the accounts become black instead of gray - but once I check for mail the (!) appears again.

Quitting and reopening Mail isn't helpful. The (!) appears after the first time I check new mail after waking.

I would understand if it was just a matter of waiting a minute or two for the wireless to kick in - but after 15 minutes Mail still doesn't connect properly. Which is so odd because Safari works instantly after waking.

4. Makosuke macrumors 603