Mail program question

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Choctaw, Sep 26, 2013.

1. Choctaw macrumors 6502

Choctaw

I am new to Mac.....just have a question on the Mail program. When I look at an email how can I get it to show that I have already looked at it. The way things are now the mail never changes color/grays out. So all my email headers are still in black bold color and I can't tell which ones have been addressed.

Thanks

2. chabig macrumors 68040

Unread messages have a blue dot next to them. When you've read them, the dot goes away. You can also right click on a message and mark it as read or unread.

3. Choctaw thread starter macrumors 6502

Choctaw

Thanks for the info........I am not at my Mac now, but will give it a try. I use a magic mouse, so what is the equivalent of RT mouse clicking?

4. IndyBob macrumors member

IndyBob

If you go to System Preferences then to Mouse you can set the Magic mouse for Secondary Click click on right side.

5. Choctaw thread starter macrumors 6502

Choctaw

Indybob..............all this stuff seems simple to the ones who know it. I feel a bit silly by not noticing the Blue dot going away when I read email.

Just learning after PC knowledge from the 1980's being drilled into my head. There are thing that are comparable between systems. I think there will be many more commands from the key pad/mouse on the Mac. Some of which don't ring a bell...like Command + Control + F = return to screen size. I find myself thinking just do it, it is like some laws..........it does not have to make sense, it's just the way it is.
    Choctaw

6. IndyBob macrumors member

IndyBob

Choctaw, like you I come from many years of Windows and DOS. When I first decided to get a my iMac a couple of years ago I was so confused that I sold it after 6 months. The first of this year I decided to try it again.