mail sending vast data - is it a virus

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by burdekin, Feb 10, 2011.

1. burdekin macrumors member

each time i log on to mail it sends vast amounts of data without request. if i go to gmail to check emails using Safari this does not happen. i tried using time machine to set the mail application back to a previous time however this is still happening. is it a virus or some setting i have done wrong? i am new to mac so all help appreciated:confused:

2. axu539 macrumors 6502a

I'm pretty sure mail is just syncing data with gmail. That way your inbox, trash, sent mail folders have the same messages as those folders in gmail. Unless it's hampering your usage, I wouldn't worry about it.

Macs do not get viruses because there are 0 viruses on the Mac.

3. torbjoern macrumors 65816

torbjoern

4. Detrius macrumors 68000

This is a bug that's been around a while. I did a google search, and here's one way I found that looks like it'll fix the problem easily:

http://www.macsmarts.com/?p=436

5. burdekin thread starter macrumors member

Thank you for the replys. I LOVE MY MAC however am a new user and am afraid i have done something wrong. When i go to gmail using Safari it is ok. The usage is around 80 to 100 mb each time and i have only about 12 emails in the in box as i use email about once a week. The last email i sent had an attachment of about 370k which was some family photos. I will ask a friend to assist me tonight to try the fix suggested and post a reply. He has much more knowledge of computers than i have so will try this for me. thanks again for your support it is much appreciated.;)

6. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

GGJstudios

Being new to Macs, let me put your mind at ease about one thing. It isn't a virus, since none exist that can run on current Mac OS X.

7. burdekin thread starter macrumors member

A huge thank you