Mail shows wrong message

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by wilfried, Feb 23, 2008.

  1. wilfried macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    #1
    This problem cropped up in the last couple days. I download from my Gmail account via IMAP. Occasionally, when I open an email message in Mail, completely the wrong email shows up. Instead of the message I just received, I see some random message from weeks or months ago. I have no idea what might have caused this, and I haven't discerned a pattern as to which messages show this error, or which wrong email shows up. I have to go back to the web version to read the correct message. Does anyone have any ideas as to the cause, or the fix?
     
  2. NicP macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2005
    #2
    I have just started getting the same problem, any ideas on a fix?
     
  3. u415967 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    #3
    I'm getting this problem as well. It is okay online, on my ipod, just wrong on my Macbook pro.

    I'm using .mac with Leopard.
     
  4. wilfried thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    #4
    Sorry I can't be of help. The problem cleared up after a while, but I don't know what I did to fix it. I did try rebuilding "Mail's Envelope Index" in Onyx, but I don't remember if that's what did it. It's probably worth a shot.
     
  5. pat.99 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    #5
    Rebuild the mail box (from another Mac forum)

    Hi all,
    I kept looking for solutions to this problem, since my Mac G5 desktop (running 10.5.6) also has been doing it for a couple of weeks. It displays a message from months ago, even though I have clicked on a message that just came in today (via IMAP, if that matters).
    Anyway, another Mac forum had the solution that worked for me: You need to choose the mailbox from the left panel (for me, I had to not just choose Inbox, but also choose underneath that the specific account I wanted). Then go to the toolbar, and under "Mailbox", click "Rebuild".
     

Share This Page