Mail vs. Outlook

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by mitstoshi, Sep 22, 2015.

1. mitstoshi macrumors regular

Just got Office 2011 that includes Outlook. Do I use Mail alongside Outlook? I have never used Outlook before. any suggestion?

2. maxsix Suspended

maxsix

Forget clunky Apple Mail.

Use Outlook you won't regret it. Far superior.

3. mitstoshi thread starter macrumors regular

4. mitstoshi thread starter macrumors regular

Sorry, made mistake didn't get the chance to finish the replay. My question now is if I start using Outlook, do I just leave Mail or delete it from my iMac?

5. StyxMaker macrumors 68000

StyxMaker

Yes, I still have nightmares about having to use Outlook at work before I retired.

6. bgsnmky macrumors regular

HI there, I hope this is not taking over the thread but joining in.

I too have been using mail, but am looking at switching to Outlook..as I use it everyday at work. Tried macmail for 2years, but really want to switch. As the poster also asked - do you remove MAIL, or leave it in case you need those old emails that don't come over?

Other questions - as I was talking with a Mac Tech guy in the city area and he commented that outlook does NOT work with integrating your contacts. So for example if I have an iPhone/ipad etc and I add a phone number or someone's email address to it, it will NOT add it to my outlook. Apparently only if you have an email EXCHANGE server.

7. Frosties macrumors 6502a

Frosties

You can use both at the same time, leave mail and just start using outlook instead. You have also outlook for iOS .

For contacts you use microsofts own cloud service. Even using Google account as a go between works with Apple contacts. Have been using outlook.com with contacts connected over a Google account for a user for years. It syncs fine with Apple contacts. Just add it in service to sync with Facebook and the rest.

8. BrianBaughn macrumors 601

BrianBaughn

I